Japan, Booked.Real Japan. Smarter travel.Official pages

Buying cold, fever and pain medicine in Japan: drugstores, labels and limits

Checked against 17 official sources. 10 minute read.

What to know first

Go to a drugstore (ドラッグストア) or pharmacy (薬局), not a convenience store, for a cold, fever, stomach upset, hay fever or a headache. Every box carries a risk label: 第1類 (Class 1) can only be sold by a pharmacist, so it may be unavailable in the evening; 第2類 and 第3類 (Class 2 and 3) can also be sold by a registered seller (登録販売者), so they are on sale whenever a pharmacist or registered seller is on duty. Since 1 May 2026, cold, cough and decongestant products containing codeine, dihydrocodeine, pseudoephedrine, ephedrine, methylephedrine, dextromethorphan, diphenhydramine or bromovalerylurea are "abuse-prevention" medicines: an adult can buy one small pack, but staff must still check your age, what other medicines you take and whether you have bought the same kind of product elsewhere; for a large pack or more than one, they must also ask why and explain face to face or by video call. Japanese doses are often lower than at home, so read the dose, not the brand.

Next step: Save the Japanese phrase card below to your phone before you feel ill.

Who can sell Class 1
Pharmacist only, with written explanation
Who can sell Class 2 and 3
Pharmacist or registered seller
Abuse-prevention medicine rules start
1 May 2026
Open Sakai City (opens in a new tab)

Official link. We earn nothing from it.

On this page

What to do: situation by situation

Your situationWhat to do
Sore throat, runny nose, mild feverParacetamol (acetaminophen) or a single-symptom product; avoid "all-in-one" cold remedies unless you need every ingredient. Where: Drugstore, Class 2.
Headache or period pain, daytimeIbuprofen (Class 2 designated) or loxoprofen (Class 1, pharmacist only). Where: Drugstore with pharmacist on duty for Class 1.
Same, after 20:00Choose a Class 2 product; Class 1 shelves are often covered when no pharmacist is present. Where: Any drugstore.
Hay fever or allergyFexofenadine or loratadine (non-drowsy antihistamines). Where: Drugstore, Class 2.
Diarrhoea or upset stomachRehydrate first; ask the pharmacist before an anti-diarrhoeal, and see a doctor instead if you also have a fever or blood in your stool. Where: Drugstore; oral rehydration drinks also at konbini.
Cough keeping you awakeAsk the counter; many cough products are now abuse-prevention items, so expect questions. Where: Drugstore counter.
You take regular medication or are pregnantShow the box to the pharmacist before buying. Where: Pharmacy or drugstore with pharmacist.
Fever that has not improved after the doses the leaflet allows, breathing trouble, chest pain, confusionDon't self-treat: get medical advice. Where: See "When to see a doctor" below.

Drugstore, pharmacy or konbini?

Drugstore (ドラッグストア): chains such as Matsumoto Kiyoshi, Welcia, Sundrug and Tsuruha. Big range, longer hours, and often a prescription counter (調剤) at the back. A pharmacist (薬剤師) is not always on duty; a registered seller usually is.

Pharmacy (薬局): mainly dispenses prescriptions, often next to a clinic. Always has a pharmacist during opening hours, so it's the better choice for Class 1 products and for questions, but the OTC range is small.

Convenience store: most sell only quasi-drugs (医薬部外品) such as some stomach and vitamin products, plus oral rehydration drinks and cooling sheets. Some branches also sell Class 2 and 3 medicines while a registered seller is working, but no official figure shows how many (not stated officially as of 11 October 2026), so don't count on it.

How to read the label

The risk class is printed on every outer box.

要指導医薬品 (guidance-required): Pharmacist only. What happens at the till: Pharmacist checks your symptoms and history; one pack per person. Examples: Newly switched products.

第1類医薬品 (Class 1): Pharmacist only. What happens at the till: Written explanation before sale; often kept behind the counter. Examples: Loxonin S (loxoprofen).

指定第2類医薬品 (designated Class 2): Pharmacist or registered seller. What happens at the till: Signs or staff prompt you to read the leaflet. Examples: EVE A (ibuprofen).

第2類医薬品 (Class 2): Pharmacist or registered seller. What happens at the till: Staff should try to explain; ask if unsure. Examples: Allegra FX (fexofenadine), Tylenol A (acetaminophen).

第3類医薬品 (Class 3): Pharmacist or registered seller. What happens at the till: Explanation only if you ask. Examples: Some vitamins and digestives.

The products above are examples to help you recognise labels, not recommendations. Brand names differ from home, so match the active ingredient (有効成分) on the box.

Common ingredients and Japanese doses

Pain, fever: Acetaminophen (アセトアミノフェン). Example product and dose on the box: Tylenol A: 300 mg, 1 tablet per dose, up to 3 times a day, at least 4 hours apart. Same drug as paracetamol; not for under-15s.

Pain, fever: Ibuprofen (イブプロフェン). Example product and dose on the box: EVE A: 150 mg per 2-tablet dose, up to 3 times a day, at least 4 hours apart. Also contains allylisopropylacetylurea (a sedative) and caffeine; not for under-15s; no driving after a dose.

Pain: Loxoprofen (ロキソプロフェン). Example product and dose on the box: Loxonin S: 60 mg, 1 tablet per dose, up to twice a day (a third dose is allowed if symptoms return), at least 4 hours apart. Class 1; not for under-15s.

Hay fever: Fexofenadine (フェキソフェナジン). Example product and dose on the box: Allegra FX: 60 mg, 1 tablet twice daily. Not for under-15s.

Hay fever: Loratadine (ロラタジン). Example product and dose on the box: Claritin EX: 10 mg, 1 tablet once a day after a meal. Class 2; not for under-15s.

Two things catch visitors out. First, Japanese OTC ibuprofen doses (150 mg per dose in EVE A) are lower than many UK and EU packs. Don't double up to match your usual dose; follow the Japanese box or ask the pharmacist. Second, many pain and cold products combine several ingredients, including sedatives and caffeine. Take one product at a time so you don't take the same ingredient twice, and don't drink alcohol with products that contain a sedative or antihistamine. Ibuprofen and loxoprofen are not suitable for everyone, and nor is acetaminophen: if you are pregnant, have had a stomach ulcer or have kidney problems, ask the pharmacist before taking any painkiller. If a painkiller or cold remedy has ever set off asthma, do not take any of the three; the leaflets for EVE A, Loxonin S and Tylenol A all say so.

Restricted ingredients: what changed on 1 May 2026

Japan's revised Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Act created a category of abuse-prevention medicines (指定濫用防止医薬品). As of 13 February 2026, it covers oral products containing:

ephedrine, methylephedrine and pseudoephedrine (decongestants)

codeine and dihydrocodeine (cough suppressants)

dextromethorphan (cough suppressant)

diphenhydramine (antihistamine, also in sleep aids)

bromovalerylurea (sedative)

External-use products are excluded, and the ministry counts creams, patches, lozenges, nasal sprays and eye drops as external. Products whose main active ingredient is a herbal (crude-drug) one are also outside the category. Most "all-in-one" cold remedies (総合かぜ薬) contain at least one of these.

What it means for you:

A small pack is one that holds up to 7 days' doses for cold remedies, painkillers and fever reducers, and oral rhinitis (nasal allergy) medicines (5 days for other products). An adult can buy one after staff check age, other medicines and purchases elsewhere.

A large pack, or more than one pack, can only be bought face to face (or by live video), after staff check why you need it and whether you've bought it elsewhere.

People under 18 can't buy large packs or multiple packs, and staff check name and age.

These products are shelved out of reach or within sight of staff.

None of this stops a visitor buying a normal cold remedy. It does mean you will be asked a few questions, so have your symptoms ready in Japanese. Whether you can take these products home is a separate question: see what you can bring home from Japan.

Worked example: a cold on day 4 of a 10-day trip

You wake up in Osaka on day 4 with a sore throat, a temperature of 37.8°C and a blocked nose. Your partner has hay fever. It's 21:00 by the time you reach a drugstore.

Fever and sore throat: Acetaminophen (paracetamol) product, Tylenol A, 20 tablets. Class: Class 2. Price (tax incl.): ¥1,408. Days covered: 20 doses of 1 tablet; the leaflet says to stop and ask if no better after 5 or 6 doses.

Partner's hay fever: Allegra FX, 28 tablets. Class: Class 2. Price (tax incl.): ¥2,074. Days covered: 14 days.

Blocked nose: Menthol chest rub (Vicks VapoRub, 50 g) instead of a pseudoephedrine product. Class: Designated quasi-drug. Price (tax incl.): ¥1,320.

Fluids: Oral rehydration drink (OS-1), 500 ml × 2. Class: Food. Price (tax incl.): ¥428 (¥214 each). Days covered: 1 day.

Totals: ¥3,482 for the two medicines, ¥4,802 with the chest rub, and ¥5,230 including two oral rehydration drinks (Create SD online for Tylenol A and OS-1, Matsumoto Kiyoshi online for the others, checked 11 October 2026; store prices vary). Allegra FX works out at about ¥148 a day.

Why acetaminophen? It is the single ingredient the table above suggests for a sore throat and mild fever, and it has no sedative or caffeine. Why not EVE A (ibuprofen, ¥921 for 60 tablets)? It also contains a sedative and caffeine you don't need. Why not Loxonin S (¥767 for 12 tablets)? At 21:00 the pharmacist has often gone home, and Class 1 products can't be sold without one. Why not an all-in-one cold remedy? It would bring decongestants and cough suppressants you don't need. If the fever is no better after 5 or 6 doses (the limit on the Tylenol A leaflet, two days at three doses a day), or you feel worse at any point, stop self-treating and see a clinic.

Getting help in English

Show, don't explain. Point to your symptom on the phrase card below and to the ingredient on the box.

AMDA International Medical Information Center: 0120-339-266 (or 03-6233-9266), Monday to Friday 10:00–16:00, closed on public holidays and 29 December–3 January. It can tell you where to find English-speaking clinics.

Tokyo "Himawari" medical information service: 03-5285-8181, 09:00–20:00 daily, English available. For finding clinics in Tokyo.

JNTO Japan Visitor Hotline: 050-3816-2787, 24 hours, English.

Phone translation apps work well at the counter; pharmacists are used to them.

Phrase card

I have a cold: 風邪をひきました. Reading: kaze o hikimashita.

I have a fever: 熱があります. Reading: netsu ga arimasu.

Sore throat: のどが痛いです. Reading: nodo ga itai desu.

Headache: 頭が痛いです. Reading: atama ga itai desu.

Diarrhoea: 下痢です. Reading: geri desu.

Hay fever: 花粉症です. Reading: kafunshō desu.

Something that doesn't make me drowsy: 眠くならない薬はありますか. Reading: nemuku naranai kusuri wa arimasu ka.

I'm taking this medicine: この薬を飲んでいます. Reading: kono kusuri o nonde imasu.

I'm pregnant: 妊娠しています. Reading: ninshin shite imasu.

When to see a doctor instead

Japanese medicine leaflets tell you when to stop and seek advice: the EVE A and Tylenol A leaflets say after 5 or 6 doses without improvement, the Loxonin S leaflet after 1 or 2. Get medical help rather than buying more if:

a fever is no better after the number of doses the leaflet allows, or is very high;

you have difficulty breathing, chest pain, a sudden or severe headache, a stiff neck, or confusion;

your face, lips or tongue swell, or a rash comes with breathing trouble after taking a medicine (call 119);

you can't keep fluids down, or there is blood in your stool or vomit;

a baby has a fever, or a child is getting worse (adult products are not for under-15s; ask a pharmacist before using a children's product);

you need antibiotics, an inhaler or anything prescription-only (no OTC route exists).

For "should I call an ambulance?" questions, Tokyo, Osaka and Kyoto all run #7119, mainly in Japanese. If it's an emergency, call 119. Both are explained in emergency numbers and visitor help. Check what your travel insurance covers before a clinic visit; most clinics want payment on the day.

Your next step

1. Screenshot the phrase card above and the ingredient table, so you can show a pharmacist exactly what you need without searching while ill.

2. Save the drugstore nearest your hotel in Google Maps and note its closing time.

3. If you take a regular medicine, photograph its box or label so a pharmacist can read the active ingredient.

Key facts, checked 11 October 2026

Who can sell Class 1: Pharmacist only, with written explanation.

Who can sell Class 2 and 3: Pharmacist or registered seller.

Abuse-prevention medicine rules start: 1 May 2026.

Designated ingredients: 8 (ephedrine, codeine, dihydrocodeine, diphenhydramine, dextromethorphan, pseudoephedrine, bromovalerylurea, methylephedrine), oral products (list as of 13 February 2026).

Small-pack limit: 7 days' doses (cold remedies, painkillers and fever reducers, oral rhinitis medicines); 5 days (others).

Under-18 rule: No large packs or multiple packs.

Claritin EX: Class 2; loratadine 10 mg; adults 15+, 1 tablet once a day after a meal.

#7119 coverage: 42 areas, including all of Tokyo, Osaka and Kyoto prefectures.

AMDA International Medical Information Center: 0120-339-266 (or 03-6233-9266), Mon–Fri 10:00–16:00, closed public holidays and 29 Dec–3 Jan.

Sources for this section: Sakai City, OTC medicine risk categories · Kagawa Prefecture, abuse-prevention medicine system · MHLW notice 医薬発1226第16号 (26 December 2025), sale of abuse-prevention medicines · Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency (PMDA), Claritin EX OTC record · Fire and Disaster Management Agency, #7119 implementation areas (checked 11 October 2026) · AMDA International Medical Information Center, telephone consultation

Questions about this guide

Can I buy paracetamol in Japan?

Yes. Look for アセトアミノフェン on the box. Tylenol A contains 300 mg per tablet and is Class 2, so it can be sold whenever a pharmacist or registered seller is on duty. Many children's fever products also use it.

Is there a Sudafed equivalent?

Pseudoephedrine products exist, but since 1 May 2026 they're abuse-prevention medicines. You can buy one small pack (up to 7 days' doses for oral rhinitis medicines) after answering a few questions; larger packs need a face-to-face explanation. Buying it in Japan is the simple route: our guide to bringing medication into Japan says to treat any pseudoephedrine or codeine product from home as needing permission before you travel. Saline sprays are an unrestricted alternative.

Why is Loxonin behind a curtain at night?

Loxonin S is Class 1. Only a pharmacist can sell it, and many drugstores have a pharmacist only in the daytime. Shops cover or lock the shelf when none is on duty. Pharmacist hours vary by shop and no chain publishes a standard schedule (not stated officially as of 11 October 2026), so buy it in the daytime, ask "Yakuzaishi-san wa imasu ka?" (is a pharmacist here?), or choose an ibuprofen or acetaminophen product.

Can I get antibiotics without a prescription?

No. Oral antibiotics are prescription-only in Japan. A clinic visit is needed; AMDA (03-6233-9266) can point you to one with English-speaking staff.

Does tax-free shopping apply to medicine?

Not for medicine you use during the trip. From 1 November 2026 you pay the tax-inclusive price in the shop and get the tax back only after Customs confirms the goods when you leave, and goods used or consumed in Japan cannot be confirmed or refunded. See tax-free shopping in Japan for the full process.

Official pages for this guide

Sources and how this guide was checked

Published · Based on official sources · no affiliate links

Official sources

These official sources explain the rules and conditions used in this guide. Live availability and your own booking, admission or service outcome still need to be confirmed for your trip.

  1. JapaneseOfficial government page
    Sakai City, OTC medicine risk categories

    What this confirms: Supports the key facts on: Who can sell Class 1; Who can sell Class 2 and 3.

    Last checked
  2. JapaneseOfficial government page
    Kagawa Prefecture, abuse-prevention medicine system

    What this confirms: Supports the key facts on: Abuse-prevention medicine rules start; Designated ingredients; Small-pack limit.

    Last checked
  3. JapaneseOfficial government page (PDF)
    MHLW notice 医薬発1226第16号 (26 December 2025), sale of abuse-prevention medicines

    What this confirms: Supports the key facts on: Under-18 rule.

    Last checked
  4. JapaneseOperator or organisation page
    Matsumoto Kiyoshi online, Loxonin S 12 tablets

    What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.

    Last checked
  5. JapaneseOperator or organisation page
    Matsumoto Kiyoshi online, Allegra FX 28 tablets

    What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.

    Last checked
  6. JapaneseOperator or organisation page
    Matsumoto Kiyoshi online, EVE A 60 tablets

    What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.

    Last checked
  7. EnglishOperator or organisation page
    AMDA International Medical Information Center, telephone consultation

    What this confirms: Supports the key facts on: AMDA International Medical Information Center.

    Last checked
  8. JapaneseOfficial government page
    Fire and Disaster Management Agency, #7119 implementation areas (checked 11 October 2026)

    What this confirms: Supports the key facts on: #7119 coverage.

    Last checked
  9. JapaneseOfficial government page
    Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency (PMDA), Claritin EX OTC record

    What this confirms: Supports the key facts on: Claritin EX.

    Last checked
  10. JapaneseOperator or organisation page
    Matsumoto Kiyoshi online, Vicks VapoRub 50 g

    What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.

    Last checked
  11. JapaneseOperator or organisation page
    Create SD online, OS-1 500 ml

    What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.

    Last checked
  12. JapaneseOperator or organisation page
    Create SD online, Tylenol A 20 tablets (price and leaflet text)

    What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.

    Last checked
  13. JapaneseOperator or organisation page
    SSP, EVE A product page

    What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.

    Last checked
  14. JapaneseOperator or organisation page
    Daiichi Sankyo Healthcare, Loxonin S product page

    What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.

    Last checked
  15. EnglishOperator or organisation page (PDF)
    Johnson & Johnson, Tylenol A package leaflet (PDF)

    What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.

    Last checked
  16. JapaneseOfficial government page (PDF)
    MHLW, scope of abuse-prevention medicines (external-use and crude-drug exclusions)

    What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.

    Last checked
  17. JapaneseOfficial government page
    e-Gov, Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Act, Article 36-9

    What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.

    Last checked

About this guide

What to buy for a cold, fever, pain or hay fever in Japan, how to read 第1類/第2類 labels, and the 2026 rules on codeine and pseudoephedrine.

Checked against the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare (MHLW), PMDA, Kagawa Prefecture, Sakai City, the Fire and Disaster Management Agency, AMDA, the makers' product pages and leaflets, and the shops' online prices on 11 October 2026. This guide covers buying medicine once you're in Japan. If you're bringing your own, see bringing medication into Japan; for urgent help and phone numbers, see emergency numbers and visitor help. Japan, Booked. is independent and this page has no affiliate links.

Sources and limits of this guide

These dated notes show what each source supports, and what you still need to check yourself.

If columns are cut off, scroll sideways. Keyboard: focus the table, then use Left/Right Arrow keys.

QuestionWhat we foundWhere it comes fromWhat this means for your trip
Who can sell Class 1Pharmacist only, with written explanationSakai City, OTC medicine risk categoriesChecked 11 October 2026. Recheck before you rely on it.
Who can sell Class 2 and 3Pharmacist or registered sellerSakai City, OTC medicine risk categoriesChecked 11 October 2026. Recheck before you rely on it.
Abuse-prevention medicine rules start1 May 2026Kagawa Prefecture, abuse-prevention medicine systemChecked 11 October 2026. Recheck before you rely on it.
Designated ingredients8 (ephedrine, codeine, dihydrocodeine, diphenhydramine, dextromethorphan, pseudoephedrine, bromovalerylurea, methylephedrine), oral productsKagawa Prefecture, abuse-prevention medicine systemChecked 11 October 2026; list as of 13 February 2026. Recheck before you rely on it.
Small-pack limit7 days' doses (cold remedies, painkillers and fever reducers, oral rhinitis medicines); 5 days (others)Kagawa Prefecture, abuse-prevention medicine systemChecked 11 October 2026. Recheck before you rely on it.
Under-18 ruleNo large packs or multiple packsMHLW notice 医薬発1226第16号 (26 December 2025), sale of abuse-prevention medicinesChecked 11 October 2026. Recheck before you rely on it.

Based on official sources, linked below.

Guide updates Reviewed

When this guide was checked and what changed

First published
Last checked
Check again by
What we checked
Sakai City, Kagawa Prefecture, MHLW notice 医薬発1226第16号, Matsumoto Kiyoshi online, AMDA International Medical Information Center, Fire and Disaster Management Agency, Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency, Create SD online, SSP, Daiichi Sankyo Healthcare, Johnson & Johnson, MHLW and e-Gov, checked 11 October 2026.
Latest update
: First published: drugstore, pharmacy or konbini, the risk-class labels, common ingredients and Japanese doses, the 1 May 2026 limits on cold medicines and a pharmacist phrase card, checked against official pages on 11 October 2026.

The date above reflects when these checks were last run. If an individual source was rechecked later, you’ll see that date next to it below. Other copy edits are listed in the update history.

Who edits this guide

One editor looks after this guide

Japan, Booked. is run and edited from Japan. The same editor checks the Japanese and English sources, writes the traveller-facing guidance and keeps the correction history up to date.

What changed

Update history

  1. First published

    First published: drugstore, pharmacy or konbini, the risk-class labels, common ingredients and Japanese doses, the 1 May 2026 limits on cold medicines and a pharmacist phrase card, checked against official pages on 11 October 2026.

If an operator, organiser or product changes in a way that affects the guide, we check it again sooner. Reader reports help us spot what to investigate, and we verify them against current official information before publishing. Read our update and corrections policy. See every guide's review schedule. Suggest an improvement to this guide.

How we check our guides

A little more your Japan

Your travel notebook

Kept in this browser tab. Ideas and reading notes, with no bookings made.

Room for possibility

Start with something you want to explore.

Save a destination or a guide. Then compare two ideas and arrange your own day.

Explore the guides →