Japan, Booked.Real Japan. Smarter travel.Official pages

Japanese-only restaurant bookings: phone-only places, Japanese sites and queues

Checked against 10 official sources. 7 minute read.

What to know first

When a restaurant only takes bookings by Japanese phone call or on a Japanese-language site, you have four routes. Book it through an English platform that lists it (Tabelog's English booking service launched in June 2024 with over 35,000 restaurants and charges ¥440 per person; the OMAKASE listings we checked charge ¥390 per seat). Use a call-assist app such as AutoReserve, which contacts the restaurant for you for a non-refundable fee (its example is ¥500 per person). Ask your hotel to phone, which is usually free. Or skip booking: go at opening time and join the queue. Hot Pepper Gourmet closed its English site on 6 January 2026 and now takes bookings only through its Japanese site, so don't fight it.

Next step: For each restaurant you care about, paste its Japanese name into Tabelog English and OMAKASE first. If neither lists it, copy the request template in this guide into an email to your hotel at least 7 days before the meal.

Tabelog system fee
¥440 per person, non-refundable on user cancellation
OMAKASE reservation fee
¥390 per seat on the three listings checked
AutoReserve overseas fee
Varies; example ¥500 per person; non-refundable
Open Digital Garage / Kakaku.com (opens in a new tab)

Official link. We earn nothing from it.

On this page

Which route to use

Your situationWhat to do
The restaurant appears on Tabelog English with a "reserve" buttonBook there with a registered card. ¥440 per person system fee; the restaurant's own cancellation rules apply.
A high-end sushi or kaiseki counter with fixed release datesCheck OMAKASE and Pocket Concierge on the release day. Seats open in rounds (for example 1 November 2026 at 10:00 JST for one listing) and sell out.
Only a Japanese phone number, you're staying in a hotelAsk the front desk or concierge to call, in writing. Free at most hotels, and the call happens in Japanese during Japan's daytime.
Only a phone number, you're in an apartment or hostel with no deskUse a call-assist app such as AutoReserve. It contacts the restaurant in Japanese; a fee applies once confirmed.
Only a Japanese booking site (Hot Pepper, the shop's own form)Use the hotel or an app instead of the form. The forms are in Japanese only, and Hot Pepper's instant booking needs a Recruit ID account. Whether an overseas phone number is accepted is not stated officially (as of 11 October 2026).
Ramen, udon, curry, gyudon, kaiten-zushi, family restaurantWalk in; queue or take a numbered ticket. Most casual places don't take bookings at all.
The place has a 30-plus person queue at noonCome at opening, or after 14:00. Queues are shortest in the first 15 minutes and the mid-afternoon gap.

Worked example: three meals, three routes

A couple stays in Shinjuku from 14 to 18 November 2026. They want a high-end Japanese counter restaurant, a yakitori shop and a famous ramen shop.

1. The counter restaurant on OMAKASE.

The listing's November–December seasonal course (crab) starts at ¥60,000 per guest, tax included, service charge excluded (10% at the counter); outside those months its seasonal course starts at ¥45,000. A reservation fee of ¥390 per seat is charged when the booking completes. Cancellation costs 10% from 7 days before, 50% from 3 days before and 100% the day before.

Cost for two at the ¥60,000 starting price: ¥60,000 × 2 = ¥120,000, plus 10% service = ¥132,000 paid at the restaurant, plus ¥780 in booking fees.

Risk: cancel on 13 November 2026 for a 16 November 2026 dinner (3 days before) and you owe 50% of ¥120,000 = ¥60,000 for the two of you. Book only the night you are sure of.

2. The yakitori shop: phone only, so the hotel calls.

They email the hotel on 7 November 2026 with the template below. The concierge calls at 17:00 Japan time, gets 19:30 on 15 November 2026, and replies with the shop's cancellation rule.

Cost: ¥0 for the call. If the hotel can't help, AutoReserve would add about ¥500 per person, or ¥1,000 for two, non-refundable once confirmed.

3. The ramen shop: no bookings.

It opens at 11:00. They arrive at 10:40, find 12 people ahead, and the shop seats 10 at the counter with an average stay of about 15 minutes.

Estimate: the first 10 sit at 11:00; the next 2 sit around 11:15; they sit at about 11:15–11:20.

Same shop at 12:15 with 35 people ahead: 35 ÷ 10 × 15 minutes ≈ 50 minutes of queueing.

Total booking overhead for the trip: ¥780 (OMAKASE) plus ¥0 (hotel) plus ¥0 (queue), against ¥1,780 if every booking went through paid platforms.

The platforms that work in English

Tabelog (English): The broadest choice: over 35,000 bookable restaurants at launch in June 2024. Cost to you: ¥440 per person system fee, charged on confirmation; not refunded if you cancel. Notes (as of 11 October 2026): Account and card required; phone verified by email link; only date, time and party size can be changed online.

OMAKASE: Hard-to-book sushi and kaiseki counters. Cost to you: ¥390 per seat reservation fee on the listings we checked. Notes (as of 11 October 2026): Seats released in rounds at a fixed JST time; listing shows cancellation steps.

Pocket Concierge: High-end restaurants in Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka and more. Cost to you: You pay online by card (a card authorisation is made at booking), so nothing is paid at the restaurant on the day; any separate user fee is not stated officially (as of 11 October 2026). Notes (as of 11 October 2026): English site; extra orders on the night are charged to the same card; waiting list.

AutoReserve: Restaurants with no online booking. Cost to you: Fee for overseas users, example ¥500 per person, varies by price range, peak time and your country; not refunded. Notes (as of 11 October 2026): Contacts the restaurant in Japanese; a card authorisation is placed for the reservation fee and, when you book a course, the course price; it secures any cancellation fee and isn't payment for the meal.

TableCheck: Hotel restaurants and many mid- to high-end places. Cost to you: Often none; some restaurants add a booking fee (Ramen Hisui: ¥390 per person, non-refundable). Notes (as of 11 October 2026): Covered in our TableCheck guide.

All of them show the restaurant's own cancellation policy before you confirm. That policy, not the platform, decides what you pay if plans change.

Tabelog also has a separate multilingual app. Search coverage is far bigger than booking coverage: most listings can be read in English, but only some can be booked.

When only a phone number works

Ask the hotel, in writing. A written request avoids misheard dates and gives the concierge everything for one call. Send it at least 7 days ahead for popular places, and remember Japan is 9 hours ahead of the UK in winter (GMT) and 8 hours ahead in summer (BST), and 8 hours ahead of France and Germany in winter, 7 in summer.

Copy and fill in:

Please could you call this restaurant to book a table for me?

Restaurant: [name in Japanese and English], [branch], [phone number]

Date: [day, date, year]. Preferred time: [19:00]; also fine: [18:30–20:00]

Party: [2] adults. Name for the booking: [your surname]

Requests: [counter seats / no raw fish / child aged 6]

Please tell me the cancellation policy and any cancellation fee.

If [date] is full, please try [second date].

If you must phone yourself. Many small restaurants answer only between lunch and dinner service, roughly 15:00–17:00. These phrases are enough for a short call:

Yoyaku o onegai shimasu.: I'd like to make a reservation.

Eigo wa daijōbu desu ka?: Is English OK?

[Jūichi]-gatsu [jūgo]-nichi, [shichi]-ji kara, [futari] desu.: 15 November, from 7 o'clock, for two people.

Namae wa [Smith] desu.: My name is Smith.

Kyanseru-ryō wa arimasu ka?: Is there a cancellation fee?

Arigatō gozaimasu.: Thank you.

If the person says "ippai desu" or "manseki desu", it's full.

Handling queues without speaking Japanese

Line on the pavement. Join the end. Staff may walk the line taking orders or handing out meal tickets; see our guide to ramen ticket machines and ordering for that part.

A clipboard by the door. Write your name in capital letters and the party size (for example "SMITH 2"). Wait nearby; staff call names, often in Japanese pronunciation ("Sumisu-sama").

A touch-screen kiosk at the entrance. Common at chains such as kaiten-zushi. Look for the English toggle (often a globe icon). Choose party size and seating ("counter" or "table"), take the numbered slip, and watch the screen for your number.

A QR code to scan. You get a web page showing your place in line. Airウェイト (Air Wait), one of the most common systems, calls you by email, LINE, an automated phone call or, after a QR scan, a push notification on Android; its screens can be switched to English, Chinese or Korean. Whether its phone call reaches a non-Japanese number is not stated officially (as of 11 October 2026), so choose email or keep the page open instead.

Holding a place for others. Many shops seat only when the whole party is present. Don't queue alone for four.

Your next step

List your two or three must-have restaurants. Search each name on Tabelog English, then OMAKASE. If neither shows a booking button, send the hotel template above today, at least 7 days before the meal, with one fallback date.

Key facts, checked 11 October 2026

Tabelog English booking: restaurants at launch: Over 35,000 (launch 26 June 2024).

Tabelog system fee: ¥440 per person, non-refundable on user cancellation.

OMAKASE reservation fee: ¥390 per seat on the three listings checked.

AutoReserve overseas fee: Varies; example ¥500 per person; non-refundable.

Hot Pepper Gourmet: English site closed on 6 January 2026; search and booking continue on the Japanese site, where instant booking needs a Recruit ID and request booking doesn't.

Pocket Concierge payment: Online card payment (authorised at booking); user fee not stated.

Air Wait call-up methods: Email, LINE, automated phone call, Android push; English, Chinese, Korean screens.

Tabelog card brands: Not listed; new cards get a small validity charge (e.g. ¥2), refunded.

Sources for this section: Digital Garage / Kakaku.com, launch of Tabelog reservations for overseas visitors (26 June 2024) · Tabelog English help · OMAKASE, example restaurant listing with fees and cancellation terms · AutoReserve restaurant help, "Reservations from Overseas Customers" · Hot Pepper Gourmet, notice of termination of overseas sites · Pocket Concierge (English) · Air Wait (Airウェイト), features (Japanese)

Questions about this guide

Can I book Tabelog restaurants with a UK, French or German card?

Tabelog requires a registered payment method for every booking and charges ¥440 per person on confirmation. Its English help page doesn't list which card brands are accepted (not stated officially as of 11 October 2026). When you register a new card it runs a validity check, which can show as a small charge such as ¥2 and is refunded later. If the card is refused at the payment step, use a different brand or ask your hotel to book by phone instead.

Will my hotel really call a restaurant for me?

Most mid-range and upscale hotels will, usually free of charge. Business hotels with a small front desk may decline during busy check-in hours (15:00–18:00), so email ahead. Ask them to forward the restaurant's cancellation rule, because you're still bound by it.

Is there a fee for a no-show if I booked by phone?

Often yes. Many Japanese restaurants charge for no-shows even on phone bookings, and set-menu counters may ask the hotel to guarantee the booking with your card. If plans change, have the hotel call to cancel before the restaurant's cancellation fee starts; in the worked example above that means more than 7 days ahead.

What does "request" mean on a booking platform?

It means the restaurant hasn't accepted yet. Don't treat the meal as booked until you get a confirmation email. AutoReserve, for example, charges its fee only when the reservation is confirmed, not at the request.

How long are ramen queues, really?

Count the people ahead and the seats inside. A counter of 10 seats turns over every 15–20 minutes, so 30 people ahead means roughly 45–60 minutes. Arriving 20 minutes before opening typically means you sit in the first or second round.

Official pages for this guide

Sources and how this guide was checked

Published · Based on official sources · no affiliate links

Official sources

These official sources explain the rules and conditions used in this guide. Live availability and your own booking, admission or service outcome still need to be confirmed for your trip.

  1. EnglishOperator or organisation page
    Digital Garage / Kakaku.com, launch of Tabelog reservations for overseas visitors (26 June 2024)

    What this confirms: Supports the key facts on: Tabelog English booking: restaurants at launch.

    Last checked
  2. EnglishOperator or organisation page
    Tabelog English help

    What this confirms: Supports the key facts on: Tabelog system fee; Tabelog card brands.

    Last checked
  3. EnglishOperator or organisation page
    Kakaku.com news, Tabelog multilingual app

    What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.

    Last checked
  4. EnglishOperator or organisation page
    OMAKASE, example restaurant listing with fees and cancellation terms

    What this confirms: Supports the key facts on: OMAKASE reservation fee.

    Last checked
  5. EnglishOperator or organisation page
    Pocket Concierge (English)

    What this confirms: Supports the key facts on: Pocket Concierge payment.

    Last checked
  6. EnglishOperator or organisation page
    AutoReserve, "About"

    What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.

    Last checked
  7. EnglishOperator or organisation page
    AutoReserve restaurant help, "Reservations from Overseas Customers"

    What this confirms: Supports the key facts on: AutoReserve overseas fee.

    Last checked
  8. EnglishOperator or organisation page
    Hot Pepper Gourmet, notice of termination of overseas sites

    What this confirms: Supports the key facts on: Hot Pepper Gourmet.

    Last checked
  9. JapaneseOperator or organisation page
    Hot Pepper Gourmet, online booking guide (Japanese)

    What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.

    Last checked
  10. JapaneseOperator or organisation page
    Air Wait (Airウェイト), features (Japanese)

    What this confirms: Supports the key facts on: Air Wait call-up methods.

    Last checked

About this guide

Phone-only and Japanese-site restaurants: Tabelog English, OMAKASE, call-assist apps, a hotel request template, phone phrases and queue maths.

Checked against platform help pages, restaurant listings and press releases on 11 October 2026. This guide is about the restaurants that don't work in English. For the general picture (which places take bookings at all, deposits, the two-hour table limit), start with Japan restaurant reservations for overseas visitors. For TableCheck holds and charges, see Booking a restaurant in Japan with TableCheck. Japan, Booked. is independent and this page has no affiliate links.

Sources and limits of this guide

These dated notes show what each source supports, and what you still need to check yourself.

If columns are cut off, scroll sideways. Keyboard: focus the table, then use Left/Right Arrow keys.

QuestionWhat we foundWhere it comes fromWhat this means for your trip
Tabelog English booking: restaurants at launchOver 35,000Digital Garage / Kakaku.com, launch of Tabelog reservations for overseas visitors (26 June 2024)Checked 11 October 2026; launch 26 June 2024. Recheck before you rely on it.
Tabelog system fee¥440 per person, non-refundable on user cancellationTabelog English helpChecked 11 October 2026. Recheck before you rely on it.
OMAKASE reservation fee¥390 per seat on the three listings checkedOMAKASE, example restaurant listing with fees and cancellation termsChecked 11 October 2026. Recheck before you rely on it.
AutoReserve overseas feeVaries; example ¥500 per person; non-refundableAutoReserve restaurant help, "Reservations from Overseas Customers"Checked 11 October 2026. Recheck before you rely on it.
Hot Pepper GourmetEnglish site closed on 6 January 2026; search and booking continue on the Japanese site, where instant booking needs a Recruit ID and request booking doesn'tHot Pepper Gourmet, notice of termination of overseas sitesChecked 11 October 2026. Recheck before you rely on it.
Pocket Concierge paymentOnline card payment (authorised at booking); user fee not statedPocket Concierge (English)Checked 11 October 2026. Recheck before you rely on it.

Based on official sources, linked below.

Guide updates Reviewed

When this guide was checked and what changed

First published
Last checked
Check again by
What we checked
Digital Garage / Kakaku.com, Tabelog English help, Kakaku.com news, OMAKASE, Pocket Concierge, AutoReserve, AutoReserve restaurant help, Hot Pepper Gourmet and Air Wait, checked 11 October 2026.
Latest update
: First published: four routes into phone-only and Japanese-site restaurants, Tabelog English, OMAKASE and AutoReserve fees, a hotel request template, phone phrases and queue maths, checked against official pages on 11 October 2026.

The date above reflects when these checks were last run. If an individual source was rechecked later, you’ll see that date next to it below. Other copy edits are listed in the update history.

Who edits this guide

One editor looks after this guide

Japan, Booked. is run and edited from Japan. The same editor checks the Japanese and English sources, writes the traveller-facing guidance and keeps the correction history up to date.

What changed

Update history

  1. First published

    First published: four routes into phone-only and Japanese-site restaurants, Tabelog English, OMAKASE and AutoReserve fees, a hotel request template, phone phrases and queue maths, checked against official pages on 11 October 2026.

If an operator, organiser or product changes in a way that affects the guide, we check it again sooner. Reader reports help us spot what to investigate, and we verify them against current official information before publishing. Read our update and corrections policy. See every guide's review schedule. Suggest an improvement to this guide.

How we check our guides

A little more your Japan

Your travel notebook

Kept in this browser tab. Ideas and reading notes, with no bookings made.

Room for possibility

Start with something you want to explore.

Save a destination or a guide. Then compare two ideas and arrange your own day.

Explore the guides →