A first ski trip to Japan, 2026–27: Niseko, Hakuba, Nozawa Onsen or GALA Yuzawa
Checked against 14 official sources. 11 minute read.
What to know first
For a first trip, pick the resort by how you want to arrive. GALA Yuzawa has its own Shinkansen station, about 71 minutes from Tokyo at the fastest, and suits a day trip or a first taste. Nozawa Onsen is a hot-spring village 25 minutes by bus from Iiyama Station on the Hokuriku Shinkansen, with the lowest lift prices of the four (¥7,800 a day for adults in the main season). Hakuba is ten resorts on one valley pass (¥11,100 a day), about 70 minutes by express bus from Nagano. Niseko, in Hokkaido, is the furthest and the dearest: a flight, then about three and a half hours by bus from New Chitose Airport, and ¥13,500 a day for its all-mountain pass in peak season (24 December 2026 to 28 February 2027). All four open between late November and mid-December 2026, snow permitting. Send your skis or big bags ahead by Yamato's Ski TA-Q-BIN two days before you ski, and book Shinkansen seats at 10:00 Japan time one month before travel.
Choose your resort from the table below, then book a hotel you can cancel; prices and dates in this guide are the resorts' own for 2026–27.
On this page
Prices checked on the Niseko United, Hakuba Valley, Happo-one, Nozawa Onsen and GALA Yuzawa official sites, and on Yamato Transport and JR pages, on 12 October 2026. All prices include consumption tax.
Which resort fits you?
If columns are cut off, scroll sideways. Keyboard: focus the table, then use Left/Right Arrow keys.
| Your situation | Go to | Why |
|---|---|---|
| You're based in Tokyo and want one or two days on snow | GALA Yuzawa | The station is inside the ski centre; fastest Shinkansen 71 minutes from Tokyo; planned opening 19 December 2026 |
| You want a village with hot springs and a lower lift price | Nozawa Onsen | ¥7,800 a day (adult, 19 December 2026–28 March 2027); Nozawa Onsen Liner bus from Iiyama Station, about 25 minutes |
| You want lots of terrain and a different resort each day | Hakuba | One pass covers 10 resorts; 70 minutes from Nagano Station to Hakuba Happo by express bus |
| You want Hokkaido powder and a long stay | Niseko | Four linked resorts on one all-mountain pass; season to 5 May 2027 at Annupuri and Grand Hirafu |
| You're on a Japan Rail Pass or already on a Tokyo–Kanazawa route | Hakuba or Nozawa | Both are reached from the Hokuriku Shinkansen (Nagano or Iiyama) |
| You have small children | Any, but check the child age bands | Happo-one: 5 and under free. Nozawa: one child up to 5 free per paying adult. Niseko: child rate from 4 |
| You'll ski Christmas to New Year | Any, with seats booked | Niseko's peak prices start on 24 December; JR runs every Nozomi as reserved-only from 25 December 2026 to 5 January 2027 |
Worked example: five days of skiing, two adults
The same five ski days in the main season, with each resort's 2026–27 adult prices:
If columns are cut off, scroll sideways. Keyboard: focus the table, then use Left/Right Arrow keys.
| Resort and ticket | Price per adult | Two adults |
|---|---|---|
| Niseko United All Mountain Pass, 5-Day, peak season | ¥65,500 | ¥131,000 |
| Hakuba Valley All-Mountain Pass, 5-day (valid for 10 days from first use) | ¥53,400 | ¥106,800 |
| Happo-one only, Peak Season 19 Dec 2026–22 Mar 2027, adults 18–64: 2-Day ticket ¥19,600 + three 1-Day tickets at ¥9,800 | ¥49,000 | ¥98,000 |
| Nozawa Onsen: 3-Day ¥21,200 + two 1-Day tickets at ¥7,800 | ¥36,800 | ¥73,600 |
What this tells you:
- Hakuba's valley pass buys flexibility. It costs ¥4,400 more per adult than five days at Happo-one alone, but it covers ten resorts and lasts 10 days from first use, so you can take a rest day without wasting it. Niseko's multi-day tickets, by contrast, must be used on consecutive days.
- Niseko is cheaper outside peak season. Its regular season (12–23 December 2026 and 1–22 March 2027) brings the 5-Day pass down to ¥61,000.
- Children change the sums. A 10-year-old pays ¥39,300 for Niseko's 5-Day peak pass, ¥29,700 for Hakuba Valley's 5-day pass and ¥4,700 a day at Nozawa (where "child" means junior-high age and below).
Season dates and lift prices, 2026–27
Niseko United (Hokkaido). Operating dates: Niseko Annupuri and Niseko Tokyu Grand Hirafu 28 November 2026–5 May 2027; Niseko Village 28 November 2026–4 April 2027; Niseko Hanazono 28 November 2026–11 April 2027. Night skiing 12 December 2026–22 March 2027. All Mountain Pass, adults: 1-Day ¥13,500 in peak season (24 December 2026–28 February 2027) and ¥12,600 in Regular Season (12–23 December 2026 and 1–22 March 2027). Check the separate rates for Early, Spring and Final Season. Child (4–12) 1-Day peak ¥8,100; peak 1-Day for ages 13–15 and those aged 65 and over ¥11,500. Day tickets stay valid until the end of night skiing. Early-season passes (28 November–11 December) can't be bought online.
Hakuba Valley (Nagano). The All-Mountain Day Pass covers Jigatake, Kashimayari, Sanosaka, Goryu, Hakuba47, Happo-one, Iwatake, Tsugaike, Norikura and Cortina. 2026–27 prices: 1 day ¥11,100 adult (13+), ¥6,400 child (6–12); 3 days ¥32,200 (valid 6 days); 5 days ¥53,400 (valid 10 days). It goes on sale around November on the Hakuba Valley webshop.
Hakuba Happo-one (Nagano). Early season 1–18 December 2026: 1-Day ¥6,400. Peak 19 December 2026–22 March 2027: 1-Day ¥9,800 adult (18–64), ¥4,900 child (6–17), ¥9,500 senior (65+, at the ticket window with photo ID); 2-Day ¥19,600. Spring 23 March–5 May 2027: ¥6,400. Children aged 5 and under ski free. Happo-one says that if bad weather stops you using a ticket on your planned day, you can use it on another date, but there are no refunds.
Nozawa Onsen (Nagano). Season 28 November 2026–5 May 2027. Regular tickets, 19 December 2026–28 March 2027: 1 Day ¥7,800 adult, ¥4,700 child (junior high and below), ¥6,300 senior (60+, ID needed); 2 Days ¥14,500; 3 Days ¥21,200 (consecutive days); night skiing 17:00–20:00 ¥2,850. One child aged 5 or under skis free with each paying adult. No refunds or changes after purchase.
GALA Yuzawa (Niigata). Planned opening 19 December 2026. The 2026–27 ticket-window price for a 1-day lift ticket is ¥8,000; a limited "super early" web ticket at ¥4,300 sold out after going on sale on 5 October 2026. The closing date for 2026–27 is not stated officially as of 12 October 2026.
Getting there
GALA Yuzawa. Joetsu Shinkansen to GALA-Yuzawa Station, which opens straight into the ski centre (fastest 71 minutes from Tokyo, according to GALA). Trains to Echigo-Yuzawa Station run all year; from there a free shuttle bus takes about 10 minutes.
Nozawa Onsen. Hokuriku Shinkansen to Iiyama. From the Chikuma River exit, the Nozawa Onsen Liner leaves from bus stop 4 and runs direct in about 25 minutes; buy the ticket from the machine next to the stop. The local Nagaden bus (stop 2) takes about 40 minutes and you pay on board.
Hakuba. Hokuriku Shinkansen to Nagano, then Alpico’s Nagano–Hakuba express bus from Nagano Station East Exit. The checked route page lists the 1 April–30 November 2026 timetable: its 08:20 departure reaches Hakuba Happo bus terminal at 09:30. This spring-to-autumn example does not establish a 2026–27 winter connection. The winter timetable and reservation rules are not confirmed here; check Alpico’s current winter information before booking. Alpico accepts Visa contactless payment on this route.
Niseko. Chuo Bus ski buses require a reservation. The checked Niseko United access page still labels its New Chitose Airport timetable as 2025–26 data. It says 2026–27 reservations and timetable updates are planned for around October; this does not confirm that reservations are already open. Check the operator’s current-season schedule and available seats before booking. Other operators include the White Liner and the Hokkaido Resort Liner. By train it’s New Chitose Airport to Otaru (about 72 minutes on the rapid) and Otaru to Niseko on a local train (about 90 minutes); services are infrequent.
Skis, boards and big bags
On the Shinkansen. On JR East's Joetsu and Hokuriku Shinkansen, there's no luggage reservation. Each passenger may bring up to two items, each up to 250 cm in total dimensions, 2 m long and 30 kg. Skis and snowboards in a bag can exceed the length limit if you can carry them upright. JR East warns that space can run short in the ski season, in which case you keep your gear at your feet. On the Tokaido, Sanyo and Kyushu Shinkansen, sports equipment doesn't need a reservation either, but the space behind the last row is only for passengers who have booked it; see Shinkansen oversized baggage.
Sending gear ahead (Ski TA-Q-BIN). Yamato Transport delivers skis, boards and bags to ski resorts. Hand them over at least two days before you ski (three for some areas), by the cut-off time of the place you send from; Yamato delivers by the day before, and you collect at your hotel's front desk. Skis are charged at the size-180 rate, the item limit is 30 kg, and this service can't be sent from a convenience store. Size-180 cash rates: Kanto (Tokyo) to Shinetsu (Hakuba, Nozawa) ¥3,680; Kanto to Hokkaido (Niseko) ¥5,220; Kansai (Osaka, Kyoto) to Hokkaido ¥6,820, plus a ski cover if you need one. Book the return at the same time and Yamato takes ¥100 off each item on the way home. For hotel-to-hotel forwarding, see luggage forwarding.
Renting. All four areas have rental shops at the base. 2026–27 rental prices and the largest boot sizes stocked were not stated officially by these resorts as of 12 October 2026; if you have very large feet, bring your own boots or ask the shop by email before you book.
When to book
- Hotels: as soon as your dates are fixed, with free cancellation; there's no official booking window, and Christmas to New Year and Chinese New Year (6 February 2027) are busy (our judgement).
- Shinkansen seats: 10:00 JST one month before travel; for a ski trip leaving 27 December, that's 10:00 on 27 November (01:00 in London).
- Niseko airport bus: the checked page says 2026–27 booking is planned for around October. Confirm that reservations have actually opened and use the operator’s current-season timetable; no opening date or seat availability is confirmed here.
- Hakuba Valley pass: from around November 2026 online, or buy at the resort.
FAQ
I've never skied. Is Japan a good place to learn? Yes, if you pick a resort with easy access and beginner slopes and book a lesson. Happo-one sells a "Happo Debut" 1-Day ticket (¥4,900 adult) valid on its beginner lifts only, which saves money while you learn.
Can I do a day trip from Tokyo? GALA Yuzawa is built for it: Shinkansen to the resort's own station (fastest 71 minutes), rental at the base, and back the same evening. Book a reserved seat for the return on busy weekends.
Do I need to carry cash? Lift tickets can be bought online at all four areas, and Happo-one's web tickets work at self-service machines with a QR code. Carry some cash for local buses and small restaurants; see cash or card in Japan.
What if it doesn't snow? Opening dates are plans, not promises. Happo-one lets you use a weather-affected ticket on another day; Nozawa and Niseko sell tickets with no refund after purchase. Check your travel insurance for winter sports cover; see what Japan travel insurance should cover.
Can I ski off-piste? Not on a whim. Areas beyond the controlled resort boundary are hazardous mountain terrain; Nozawa Onsen says you enter backcountry at your own risk, and Niseko and Hakuba publish their own rules and avalanche information. As a first-timer, stay on marked runs.
Your next step
Pick one of the four resorts, check its 2026–27 price above against your days, then book a cancellable hotel and put two reminders in your calendar: the 10:00 JST Shinkansen sale one month before travel, and Yamato's Ski TA-Q-BIN drop-off two days before your first ski day.
Key facts (as of 12 October 2026)
If columns are cut off, scroll sideways. Keyboard: focus the table, then use Left/Right Arrow keys.
| Fact | Value | As of | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Niseko United dates | Annupuri, Grand Hirafu 28 Nov 2026–5 May 2027; Village to 4 Apr 2027; Hanazono to 11 Apr 2027; night 12 Dec 2026–22 Mar 2027 | 12 October 2026 | https://www.niseko.ne.jp/en/lift/ |
| Niseko All Mountain Pass | Peak (24 Dec 2026–28 Feb 2027) 1-Day ¥13,500, 5-Day ¥65,500 adult; peak child 4–12 1-Day ¥8,100; Regular Season (12–23 Dec 2026 and 1–22 Mar 2027) adult 1-Day ¥12,600, 5-Day ¥61,000; other seasonal rates are separate; consecutive days only | 12 October 2026 | https://www.niseko.ne.jp/en/lift/ |
| Niseko airport bus (Chuo Bus) | 2025–26 timetable only; 2026–27 reservations and timetable updates planned around October; actual booking opening and current-season seats not confirmed | 12 October 2026 | https://www.niseko.ne.jp/en/niseko/niseko-access/ |
| Hakuba Valley All-Mountain Pass | 1 day ¥11,100 adult (13+), ¥6,400 child; 3 days ¥32,200; 5 days ¥53,400 (valid 10 days); on sale around November | 12 October 2026 | https://www.hakubavalley.com/en/ticket/ |
| Happo-one | Peak 19 Dec 2026–22 Mar 2027 1-Day ¥9,800 adult, ¥4,900 child (6–17); early and spring ¥6,400; 5 and under free | 12 October 2026 | https://www.happo-one.jp/en/ticket/ |
| Nozawa Onsen | Season 28 Nov 2026–5 May 2027; 1 Day ¥7,800, 3 Days ¥21,200 adult; child ¥4,700; night ¥2,850 | 12 October 2026 | https://en.nozawaski.com/the-mountain/lift-ticket/ticket-prices/ |
| Nozawa access | Nozawa Onsen Liner from Iiyama Station stop 4, about 25 minutes | 12 October 2026 | https://en.nozawaski.com/access/coming-train-bus/ |
| GALA Yuzawa | Planned opening 19 Dec 2026; window 1-day ¥8,000; fastest 71 minutes from Tokyo | 12 October 2026 (notice of 2 October 2026) | https://gala.co.jp/winter/information/liftticketearlysale20261015/ and https://gala.co.jp/winter/access/ |
| Alpico Nagano–Hakuba bus | 1 Apr–30 Nov 2026 timetable: Nagano Station East 08:20 → Hakuba Happo BT 09:30; 2026–27 winter timetable and reservation rules not confirmed | 12 October 2026 | https://www.alpico.co.jp/traffic/express/nagano_hakuba/ |
| JR East Shinkansen baggage | No reservation; 2 items, each ≤250 cm total, ≤2 m long, ≤30 kg; skis and boards may exceed length if carried upright in a bag | 12 October 2026 | https://www.jreast.co.jp/multi/luggage-area/index.html |
| Yamato Ski TA-Q-BIN | Hand over 2 days before (3 for some areas); size-180 rate; ≤30 kg; no convenience-store drop-off; ¥100 off per item on return when booked as a round trip | 12 October 2026 | https://www.kuronekoyamato.co.jp/ytc/customer/send/services/ski/ |
| Yamato size-180 cash rates | Kanto→Shinetsu ¥3,680; Kanto→Hokkaido ¥5,220; Kansai→Hokkaido ¥6,820 | 12 October 2026 | https://www.kuronekoyamato.co.jp/ytc/search/estimate/ichiran.html |
Sources
Sources last reviewed: 12 October 2026.
- Niseko United, 2026–27 All Mountain Pass and operating dates: https://www.niseko.ne.jp/en/lift/
- Niseko United, getting to Niseko (bus and train): https://www.niseko.ne.jp/en/niseko/niseko-access/
- Hakuba Valley, 2026–27 All-Mountain Day Pass: https://www.hakubavalley.com/en/ticket/
- Hakuba Happo-one, tickets and passes 2026–27: https://www.happo-one.jp/en/ticket/
- Nozawa Onsen Snow Resort, winter fares 2026–27 (English): https://en.nozawaski.com/the-mountain/lift-ticket/ticket-prices/; regular lift fares, 19 December 2026–28 March 2027 (Japanese): https://nozawaski.com/winter/lift_price/
- Nozawa Onsen Snow Resort, coming by train and bus: https://en.nozawaski.com/access/coming-train-bus/
- GALA Yuzawa, super-early lift ticket notice and opening date (2 October 2026, Japanese): https://gala.co.jp/winter/information/liftticketearlysale20261015/
- GALA Yuzawa, access (Japanese): https://gala.co.jp/winter/access/
- Alpico Kotsu, Nagano–Hakuba express bus (Japanese): https://www.alpico.co.jp/traffic/express/nagano_hakuba/
- JR East, luggage on Shinkansen: https://www.jreast.co.jp/multi/luggage-area/index.html
- JR Central, oversized baggage: https://global.jr-central.co.jp/en/info/oversized-baggage/
- JR Central and JR West, Nozomi all reserved-seat periods and booking times: https://railway.jr-central.co.jp/nozomi/
- Yamato Transport, Ski TA-Q-BIN (Japanese): https://www.kuronekoyamato.co.jp/ytc/customer/send/services/ski/
- Yamato Transport, TA-Q-BIN cash rate list (Japanese): https://www.kuronekoyamato.co.jp/ytc/search/estimate/ichiran.html
Official pages for this guide
The rules in this guide come from the official pages below. Japan, Booked. does not book or submit requests on your behalf.
- Niseko United, 2026–27 All Mountain Pass and operating dates
- Niseko United, getting to Niseko (bus and train)
- Hakuba Valley, 2026–27 All-Mountain Day Pass
- Hakuba Happo-one, tickets and passes 2026–27
- Nozawa Onsen Snow Resort, winter fares 2026–27
- Nozawa Onsen Snow Resort, coming by train and bus
- GALA Yuzawa, super-early lift ticket notice and opening date (2 October 2026, Japanese)
- GALA Yuzawa, access (Japanese)
- Alpico Kotsu, Nagano–Hakuba express bus (Japanese)
- JR East, luggage on Shinkansen
- JR Central, oversized baggage
- JR Central and JR West, Nozomi all reserved-seat periods and booking times
- Yamato Transport, Ski TA-Q-BIN (Japanese)
- Yamato Transport, TA-Q-BIN cash rate list (Japanese)
Read next
- Taking a large suitcase on the ShinkansenLearn how to measure your bag and choose the seat and luggage arrangement that matches your train journey.
- Japan luggage forwarding hotel to hotel: timing, prices and receiving rulesForward luggage between Japanese hotels: hand it over two days before check-in, ¥3,160 from Tokyo to Kyoto, and what to do if an Airbnb can't receive it.
- Cash or card in Japan: plan your everyday paymentsBuild a practical mix of cash, cards and transport payments for shopping, food and getting around.
- What to look for in Japan travel insuranceWork through medical costs, cancellation and baggage cover alongside the policy limits that matter to your trip.
Sources and how this guide was checked
Published · Based on official sources · no affiliate links
Official sources
These official sources explain the rules and conditions used in this guide. Live availability and your own booking, admission or service outcome still need to be confirmed for your trip.
- Niseko United, 2026–27 All Mountain Pass and operating dates
What this confirms: A first ski trip to Japan, 2026–27: Niseko, Hakuba, Nozawa Onsen or GALA Yuzawa
Last checked - Niseko United, getting to Niseko (bus and train)
What this confirms: A first ski trip to Japan, 2026–27: Niseko, Hakuba, Nozawa Onsen or GALA Yuzawa
Last checked - Hakuba Valley, 2026–27 All-Mountain Day Pass
What this confirms: A first ski trip to Japan, 2026–27: Niseko, Hakuba, Nozawa Onsen or GALA Yuzawa
Last checked - Hakuba Happo-one, tickets and passes 2026–27
What this confirms: A first ski trip to Japan, 2026–27: Niseko, Hakuba, Nozawa Onsen or GALA Yuzawa
Last checked - Nozawa Onsen Snow Resort, winter fares 2026–27
What this confirms: A first ski trip to Japan, 2026–27: Niseko, Hakuba, Nozawa Onsen or GALA Yuzawa
Last checked - Nozawa Onsen Snow Resort, coming by train and bus
What this confirms: A first ski trip to Japan, 2026–27: Niseko, Hakuba, Nozawa Onsen or GALA Yuzawa
Last checked - GALA Yuzawa, super-early lift ticket notice and opening date (2 October 2026, Japanese)
What this confirms: A first ski trip to Japan, 2026–27: Niseko, Hakuba, Nozawa Onsen or GALA Yuzawa
Last checked - GALA Yuzawa, access (Japanese)
What this confirms: A first ski trip to Japan, 2026–27: Niseko, Hakuba, Nozawa Onsen or GALA Yuzawa
Last checked - Alpico Kotsu, Nagano–Hakuba express bus (Japanese)
What this confirms: A first ski trip to Japan, 2026–27: Niseko, Hakuba, Nozawa Onsen or GALA Yuzawa
Last checked - JR East, luggage on Shinkansen
What this confirms: A first ski trip to Japan, 2026–27: Niseko, Hakuba, Nozawa Onsen or GALA Yuzawa
Last checked - JR Central, oversized baggage
What this confirms: A first ski trip to Japan, 2026–27: Niseko, Hakuba, Nozawa Onsen or GALA Yuzawa
Last checked - JR Central and JR West, Nozomi all reserved-seat periods and booking times
What this confirms: A first ski trip to Japan, 2026–27: Niseko, Hakuba, Nozawa Onsen or GALA Yuzawa
Last checked - Yamato Transport, Ski TA-Q-BIN (Japanese)
What this confirms: A first ski trip to Japan, 2026–27: Niseko, Hakuba, Nozawa Onsen or GALA Yuzawa
Last checked - Yamato Transport, TA-Q-BIN cash rate list (Japanese)
What this confirms: A first ski trip to Japan, 2026–27: Niseko, Hakuba, Nozawa Onsen or GALA Yuzawa
Last checked
About this guide
Choose your resort from the table below, then book a hotel you can cancel; prices and dates in this guide are the resorts' own for 2026–27.
Sources last reviewed: 12 October 2026.
How we checked this
Where this information comes from
A first ski trip to Japan, 2026–27: Niseko, Hakuba, Nozawa Onsen or GALA Yuzawa
If columns are cut off, scroll sideways. Keyboard: focus the table, then use Left/Right Arrow keys.
| Question | What we found | Where it comes from | What this means for your trip |
|---|---|---|---|
| You're based in Tokyo and want one or two days on snow | GALA Yuzawa — The station is inside the ski centre; fastest Shinkansen 71 minutes from Tokyo; planned opening 19 December 2026 | Niseko United, 2026–27 All Mountain Pass and operating dates; Niseko United, getting to Niseko (bus and train); Hakuba Valley, 2026–27 All-Mountain Day Pass; Hakuba Happo-one, tickets and passes 2026–27; Nozawa Onsen Snow Resort, winter fares 2026–27; Nozawa Onsen Snow Resort, coming by train and bus; GALA Yuzawa, super-early lift ticket notice and opening date (2 October 2026, Japanese); GALA Yuzawa, access (Japanese); Alpico Kotsu, Nagano–Hakuba express bus (Japanese); JR East, luggage on Shinkansen; JR Central, oversized baggage; JR Central and JR West, Nozomi all reserved-seat periods and booking times; Yamato Transport, Ski TA-Q-BIN (Japanese); Yamato Transport, TA-Q-BIN cash rate list (Japanese) | Choose your resort from the table below, then book a hotel you can cancel; prices and dates in this guide are the resorts' own for 2026–27. |
| You want a village with hot springs and a lower lift price | Nozawa Onsen — ¥7,800 a day (adult, 19 December 2026–28 March 2027); Nozawa Onsen Liner bus from Iiyama Station, about 25 minutes | Niseko United, 2026–27 All Mountain Pass and operating dates; Niseko United, getting to Niseko (bus and train); Hakuba Valley, 2026–27 All-Mountain Day Pass; Hakuba Happo-one, tickets and passes 2026–27; Nozawa Onsen Snow Resort, winter fares 2026–27; Nozawa Onsen Snow Resort, coming by train and bus; GALA Yuzawa, super-early lift ticket notice and opening date (2 October 2026, Japanese); GALA Yuzawa, access (Japanese); Alpico Kotsu, Nagano–Hakuba express bus (Japanese); JR East, luggage on Shinkansen; JR Central, oversized baggage; JR Central and JR West, Nozomi all reserved-seat periods and booking times; Yamato Transport, Ski TA-Q-BIN (Japanese); Yamato Transport, TA-Q-BIN cash rate list (Japanese) | Choose your resort from the table below, then book a hotel you can cancel; prices and dates in this guide are the resorts' own for 2026–27. |
| You want lots of terrain and a different resort each day | Hakuba — One pass covers 10 resorts; 70 minutes from Nagano Station to Hakuba Happo by express bus | Niseko United, 2026–27 All Mountain Pass and operating dates; Niseko United, getting to Niseko (bus and train); Hakuba Valley, 2026–27 All-Mountain Day Pass; Hakuba Happo-one, tickets and passes 2026–27; Nozawa Onsen Snow Resort, winter fares 2026–27; Nozawa Onsen Snow Resort, coming by train and bus; GALA Yuzawa, super-early lift ticket notice and opening date (2 October 2026, Japanese); GALA Yuzawa, access (Japanese); Alpico Kotsu, Nagano–Hakuba express bus (Japanese); JR East, luggage on Shinkansen; JR Central, oversized baggage; JR Central and JR West, Nozomi all reserved-seat periods and booking times; Yamato Transport, Ski TA-Q-BIN (Japanese); Yamato Transport, TA-Q-BIN cash rate list (Japanese) | Choose your resort from the table below, then book a hotel you can cancel; prices and dates in this guide are the resorts' own for 2026–27. |
| You want Hokkaido powder and a long stay | Niseko — Four linked resorts on one all-mountain pass; season to 5 May 2027 at Annupuri and Grand Hirafu | Niseko United, 2026–27 All Mountain Pass and operating dates; Niseko United, getting to Niseko (bus and train); Hakuba Valley, 2026–27 All-Mountain Day Pass; Hakuba Happo-one, tickets and passes 2026–27; Nozawa Onsen Snow Resort, winter fares 2026–27; Nozawa Onsen Snow Resort, coming by train and bus; GALA Yuzawa, super-early lift ticket notice and opening date (2 October 2026, Japanese); GALA Yuzawa, access (Japanese); Alpico Kotsu, Nagano–Hakuba express bus (Japanese); JR East, luggage on Shinkansen; JR Central, oversized baggage; JR Central and JR West, Nozomi all reserved-seat periods and booking times; Yamato Transport, Ski TA-Q-BIN (Japanese); Yamato Transport, TA-Q-BIN cash rate list (Japanese) | Choose your resort from the table below, then book a hotel you can cancel; prices and dates in this guide are the resorts' own for 2026–27. |
| You're on a Japan Rail Pass or already on a Tokyo–Kanazawa route | Hakuba or Nozawa — Both are reached from the Hokuriku Shinkansen (Nagano or Iiyama) | Niseko United, 2026–27 All Mountain Pass and operating dates; Niseko United, getting to Niseko (bus and train); Hakuba Valley, 2026–27 All-Mountain Day Pass; Hakuba Happo-one, tickets and passes 2026–27; Nozawa Onsen Snow Resort, winter fares 2026–27; Nozawa Onsen Snow Resort, coming by train and bus; GALA Yuzawa, super-early lift ticket notice and opening date (2 October 2026, Japanese); GALA Yuzawa, access (Japanese); Alpico Kotsu, Nagano–Hakuba express bus (Japanese); JR East, luggage on Shinkansen; JR Central, oversized baggage; JR Central and JR West, Nozomi all reserved-seat periods and booking times; Yamato Transport, Ski TA-Q-BIN (Japanese); Yamato Transport, TA-Q-BIN cash rate list (Japanese) | Choose your resort from the table below, then book a hotel you can cancel; prices and dates in this guide are the resorts' own for 2026–27. |
| You have small children | Any, but check the child age bands — Happo-one: 5 and under free. Nozawa: one child up to 5 free per paying adult. Niseko: child rate from 4 | Niseko United, 2026–27 All Mountain Pass and operating dates; Niseko United, getting to Niseko (bus and train); Hakuba Valley, 2026–27 All-Mountain Day Pass; Hakuba Happo-one, tickets and passes 2026–27; Nozawa Onsen Snow Resort, winter fares 2026–27; Nozawa Onsen Snow Resort, coming by train and bus; GALA Yuzawa, super-early lift ticket notice and opening date (2 October 2026, Japanese); GALA Yuzawa, access (Japanese); Alpico Kotsu, Nagano–Hakuba express bus (Japanese); JR East, luggage on Shinkansen; JR Central, oversized baggage; JR Central and JR West, Nozomi all reserved-seat periods and booking times; Yamato Transport, Ski TA-Q-BIN (Japanese); Yamato Transport, TA-Q-BIN cash rate list (Japanese) | Choose your resort from the table below, then book a hotel you can cancel; prices and dates in this guide are the resorts' own for 2026–27. |
| You'll ski Christmas to New Year | Any, with seats booked — Niseko's peak prices start on 24 December; JR runs every Nozomi as reserved-only from 25 December 2026 to 5 January 2027 | Niseko United, 2026–27 All Mountain Pass and operating dates; Niseko United, getting to Niseko (bus and train); Hakuba Valley, 2026–27 All-Mountain Day Pass; Hakuba Happo-one, tickets and passes 2026–27; Nozawa Onsen Snow Resort, winter fares 2026–27; Nozawa Onsen Snow Resort, coming by train and bus; GALA Yuzawa, super-early lift ticket notice and opening date (2 October 2026, Japanese); GALA Yuzawa, access (Japanese); Alpico Kotsu, Nagano–Hakuba express bus (Japanese); JR East, luggage on Shinkansen; JR Central, oversized baggage; JR Central and JR West, Nozomi all reserved-seat periods and booking times; Yamato Transport, Ski TA-Q-BIN (Japanese); Yamato Transport, TA-Q-BIN cash rate list (Japanese) | Choose your resort from the table below, then book a hotel you can cancel; prices and dates in this guide are the resorts' own for 2026–27. |
Based on official sources, linked below.
Guide updates Reviewed
When this guide was checked and what changed
- First published
- Last checked
- Check again by
- What we checked
- Niseko United, 2026–27 All Mountain Pass and operating dates; Niseko United, getting to Niseko (bus and train); Hakuba Valley, 2026–27 All-Mountain Day Pass; Hakuba Happo-one, tickets and passes 2026–27; Nozawa Onsen Snow Resort, winter fares 2026–27; Nozawa Onsen Snow Resort, coming by train and bus; GALA Yuzawa, super-early lift ticket notice and opening date (2 October 2026, Japanese); GALA Yuzawa, access (Japanese); Alpico Kotsu, Nagano–Hakuba express bus (Japanese); JR East, luggage on Shinkansen; JR Central, oversized baggage; JR Central and JR West, Nozomi all reserved-seat periods and booking times; Yamato Transport, Ski TA-Q-BIN (Japanese); Yamato Transport, TA-Q-BIN cash rate list (Japanese)
- Latest update
- : A first ski trip to Japan, 2026–27: Niseko, Hakuba, Nozawa Onsen or GALA Yuzawa
The date above reflects when these checks were last run. If an individual source was rechecked later, you’ll see that date next to it below. Other copy edits are listed in the update history.
Who edits this guide
One editor looks after this guide
Japan, Booked. is run and edited from Japan. The same editor checks the Japanese and English sources, writes the traveller-facing guidance and keeps the correction history up to date.
What changed
Update history
- First published
A first ski trip to Japan, 2026–27: Niseko, Hakuba, Nozawa Onsen or GALA Yuzawa
If an operator, organiser or product changes in a way that affects the guide, we check it again sooner. Reader reports help us spot what to investigate, and we verify them against current official information before publishing. Read our update and corrections policy. See every guide's review schedule. Suggest an improvement to this guide.