Smoking in Japan: street bans, fines, smoking areas, trains and what you can bring in
Checked against 29 official sources. 10 minute read.
What to know first
In most Japanese city centres you can't smoke while walking or standing on the street. Smoke only in a designated smoking area (喫煙所, kitsuenjo), which is usually a screened booth or a marked corner near a station. In Shibuya and Chiyoda wards in Tokyo the on-the-spot fine is ¥2,000; across all of Osaka city since 27 January 2025 it is ¥1,000; in Kyoto's three fine zones (downtown, the Kyoto Station area and Kiyomizu/Gion) it is ¥1,000. Heated tobacco (IQOS, glo, Ploom) counts as smoking in Shibuya, Chiyoda, Shinjuku and Osaka. Indoors, smoking is banned in most restaurants, shops and offices except in sealed smoking rooms, and there are no smoking rooms on Shinkansen trains any more. You must be 20 to buy or use tobacco, and nicotine e-liquid is not sold in Japan.
Next step: Before you go out, search "喫煙所" (or "smoking area") in Google Maps around your hotel and your first sight, and save the nearest two.
- Osaka city-wide street ban
- ¥1,000 fine; heated tobacco includedFrom 27 January 2025
- Shibuya street ban
- ¥2,000 on the spot; whole ward; heated tobacco includedFines from July 2019; e-payment from June 2026
- Shinjuku street ban
- Ban includes heated tobacco; no fine for smokingOrdinance as amended, in force 1 October 2026
Official link. We earn nothing from it.
On this page
What to do, situation by situation
| Your situation | What to do |
|---|---|
| Walking down a street in Tokyo, Osaka or Kyoto | Don't light up. Find a 喫煙所. What to know: Fines are ¥1,000–2,000 where a city fines, collected by patrol officers who can issue them on the spot. |
| Need a cigarette near a big station | Look for the signed smoking booth, often by the bus terminal or a side exit. What to know: Google Maps search "喫煙所" works well; Shibuya City and Osaka City publish lists. |
| No public smoking area nearby | A café or konbini with a smoking area, or a karaoke box. What to know: Osaka calls these "information-provided" smoking areas: you're expected to be a customer. |
| Choosing a restaurant or izakaya | Look at the sticker on the door. What to know: A sign is legally required if there is any smoking room; no sign means non-smoking. |
| Travelling with someone under 20 | Choose non-smoking venues. What to know: Under-20s may not enter smoking rooms or smoking-allowed restaurants, even with a parent. |
| Long Shinkansen journey | Smoke before you board. What to know: Smoking rooms on trains ended on 16 March 2024; some stations have rooms on the platform or concourse. |
| Taxi | Don't ask. What to know: Taxis are fully non-smoking by law. |
| You use IQOS, glo or Ploom | Treat it exactly like a cigarette. What to know: Covered by the Shibuya, Chiyoda, Shinjuku and Osaka bans; some places offer heated-tobacco-only rooms. |
| You vape (liquid, no tobacco) | Use smoking areas anyway. What to know: Liquid e-cigarettes with no tobacco leaf are outside Chiyoda's street-smoking rule, but the ward asks you to use a smoking area; nicotine liquid can't be bought in Japan. |
| Your hotel room | Smoke only if you booked a smoking room. What to know: Details in hotel rooms: non-smoking terms and deodorised rooms. |
Worked example: a week in Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka
Imagine you smoke about ten cigarettes a day and are spending seven days in Japan, with two days in Tokyo, two in Kyoto and three in Osaka.
What you can bring in. Japan's duty-free allowance for an adult visitor is 200 cigarettes (one carton). If you pack two cartons (400 cigarettes), the extra 200 are charged at a simplified rate of ¥15 each: 200 × ¥15 = ¥3,000 in duty and tax at the airport. Declare them on the customs form; failing to declare can be penalised. Ten a day for seven days is 70 cigarettes, so one carton is plenty.
What a slip-up costs. If you light up on a pavement in Shibuya and a patrol officer sees you, the fine is ¥2,000, payable on the spot in cash or by electronic payment, or later with a payment slip. Do the same on a street in central Osaka and it is ¥1,000. In Kyoto's three fine zones (downtown, the Kyoto Station area and Kiyomizu/Gion) it is also ¥1,000. Those three mistakes would cost ¥4,000.
Buying more in Japan. Cigarette prices are fixed nationally and shown on the shelf label behind the counter, so a konbini charges the same as a tobacco shop. The cashier's screen will ask you to confirm you are 20 or older; staff may ask for ID, so carry your passport or a photo of it.
Where you smoke instead. Shibuya and Osaka both publish lists of public smoking areas (Osaka updated its list on 6 October 2026), and Kyoto City has set up 19 public smoking areas, mostly in its fine zones. On the 2 hour 15 minute Shinkansen from Tokyo to Kyoto, smoke in the station smoking room before boarding and after arrival.
Street smoking: the rules by city
There is no national street-smoking law. Each city or ward sets its own rules by ordinance, so the rules differ from one district to the next.
Chiyoda, Tokyo (Marunouchi, Akihabara): Ban on all roads and on public places the ward designates; the Imperial Palace is excluded. Fine: ¥2,000 for now (the ordinance allows up to ¥20,000). Heated tobacco covered?: Yes, since 1 November 2024.
Shibuya, Tokyo: Ban in all outdoor public places. Fine: ¥2,000, collected on the spot. Heated tobacco covered?: Yes (IQOS, glo, Ploom named).
Shinjuku, Tokyo: Ban on all roads in the ward, walking or standing still. Fine: No fine for smoking (the ordinance's only penalty is for littering in priority districts). Heated tobacco covered?: Yes, since 1 July 2025.
Other Tokyo wards: Each sets its own rule; Minato, for example, bans smoking in outdoor public places ward-wide. Fine: Varies; Minato has no fine and says it has no plans for one. Heated tobacco covered?: Varies.
Osaka city: Ban across the whole city since 27 January 2025. Fine: ¥1,000. Heated tobacco covered?: Yes, since the same date.
Kyoto city: Fines in three zones (city centre including Shijō/Kawaramachi, the Kyoto Station area, Kiyomizu/Gion); smokers are asked not to smoke on the street anywhere in the city. Fine: ¥1,000. Heated tobacco covered?: Not fined, but patrols ask heated-tobacco users to move to a smoking area.
Outside the fine zones there may be no penalty, but that is not permission: Kyoto, for one, asks people not to smoke outdoors in public anywhere in the city. People rarely smoke while walking, and dropping a butt is littering. Carry a pocket ashtray (携帯灰皿, keitai haizara).
Individual sites have their own rules. Temples, shrines, parks, beaches and university campuses often ban smoking completely, including at the entrance.
Designated smoking areas: how to find them
Signs: Look for 喫煙所, 喫煙所はこちら (smoking area this way) or a blue sign with a cigarette symbol. 禁煙 means no smoking; 路上喫煙禁止 means no smoking on the street.
Maps: Google Maps "喫煙所" is the quickest search. Shibuya City publishes a list of its public smoking areas, and Osaka City publishes a page of places you can smoke.
Types of area: Public booths are free and open to anyone. "Information-provided" areas at cafés, pachinko parlours and shops are for customers, so buy a drink.
Stations: Many large stations have a smoking room. JR Central's guide (June 2025) says every Tōkaidō Shinkansen station has one inside the ticket gates, usable while the gates are open: on the platform at Tokyo, Mishima, Shizuoka, Hamamatsu and Nagoya, and in the concourse at the other stations, including Shinagawa, Shin-Yokohama, Kyoto and Shin-Osaka.
Airports: Haneda tells smokers, including heated-tobacco and e-cigarette users, to use the designated smoking areas in its terminals and lists them on its site. Whether there is one after security is shown on each terminal map, not in a single rule (not stated officially as of 11 October 2026).
Indoors: restaurants, bars and other buildings since April 2020
The revised Health Promotion Act came fully into force on 1 April 2020. In short:
No indoor smoking rooms allowed: schools, hospitals, children's facilities, government offices, taxis, buses and planes. Schools, hospitals and government offices may have a marked outdoor smoking spot in their grounds.
Banned indoors except in a smoking room: restaurants, bars, offices, hotels' public areas, shops, trains and ferries.
Exempt: private homes and hotel guest rooms.
A restaurant with any kind of smoking room must display a sign at the entrance. The four kinds you will see:
喫煙専用室 (smoking-only room): Smoke, but you can't eat or drink there.
加熱式たばこ専用喫煙室 (heated-tobacco-only room): Heated tobacco only; food and drink allowed.
喫煙目的室 (smoking-purpose room): Bars, cigar bars and shisha lounges where smoking is the point; no staple meals.
喫煙可能室 (smoking-allowed room): Small, older bars and izakaya allowed to keep smoking.
The last category is a transitional exception for small restaurants and bars already operating on 1 April 2020, with a customer seating area of 100 m² or less and capital of ¥50 million or less. Tokyo is stricter: the exception applies only to venues with no employees. Anyone under 20, including staff, may not enter a smoking room or smoking-allowed venue. If you keep smoking in a no-smoking place after being told to stop, the prefecture can order you to stop, and ignoring that order can bring an administrative penalty of up to ¥300,000 under the national law.
Trains, buses and ferries
Shinkansen: JR Central and JR West removed every on-board smoking room from the Tōkaidō and San'yō Shinkansen on 16 March 2024; JR West says its Shinkansen trains have been completely non-smoking since that day. Don't plan to smoke on any Shinkansen. Tōkaidō Shinkansen stations keep smoking rooms on the platform or in the concourse.
Limited express and local trains: Treat every train as non-smoking. No operator-wide statement covers all railways (not stated officially as of 11 October 2026). A few special trains still have smoking rooms: JR West lists some private compartments on the Sunrise Seto and Izumo sleepers and the TWILIGHT EXPRESS Mizukaze.
Buses and taxis: Fully non-smoking by law.
Long-distance ferries: The law allows a sealed smoking room on board, and some ships have one or a deck smoking area; check the ship guide on the ferry company's site (no single official list, as of 11 October 2026).
Bringing in tobacco, heated tobacco and vapes
Cigarettes: 200.
Heated tobacco: 10 packs (200 IQOS or glo sticks; 50 Ploom TECH capsules).
Cigars: 50.
Other tobacco: 250 g.
If you carry more than one kind, the combined limit is the equivalent of 250 g. Above the allowance, the simplified rate is ¥15 per cigarette or heated-tobacco stick and ¥50 per Ploom TECH capsule. Japan Customs states that travellers under 20 get no duty-free allowance for tobacco or alcohol.
Vapes and nicotine liquid. Nicotine-free e-cigarettes are legal and sold in Japan. Liquid containing nicotine is classed as a medicine and is not currently sold in Japan, so you can't buy it in shops. Visitors may bring in up to one month's supply for personal use without an import certificate: the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare sets this at 120 ml of liquid or 60 cartridges (combined if you carry both), plus one device and one spare. More than that needs a ministry import certificate (輸入確認証). Bring only what you'll use, keep it in its labelled bottles, and carry the device and any spare batteries in your cabin bag: e-cigarettes are not allowed in checked baggage, and you may not charge them on board. For the general rules on carrying medicines, see bringing medication into Japan.
Going home. Your own country's allowance applies when you leave Japan. For the UK and EU limits, see bringing goods home from Japan.
Buying tobacco: age 20 and ID
The legal age to buy or use tobacco in Japan is 20, even though adulthood starts at 18. Konbini, tobacco shops and some supermarkets sell cigarettes and heated-tobacco sticks; cigarettes are kept behind the counter, so ask by the number on the display shelf. At the till you will be asked to tap "Yes" on a screen to confirm your age, and staff may ask for ID. Cigarette vending machines are no use to most visitors: the taspo age-check card ended on 31 March 2026, and the machines that still sell tobacco check age with a Japanese driving licence or My Number card.
Your next step
1. Open Google Maps and search "喫煙所" around your hotel, your first sightseeing stop and your departure station.
2. Save two smoking areas at each.
3. Pack a pocket ashtray before you go out.
Key facts, checked 11 October 2026
Osaka city-wide street ban: ¥1,000 fine; heated tobacco included (From 27 January 2025).
Shibuya street ban: ¥2,000 on the spot; whole ward; heated tobacco included (Fines from July 2019; e-payment from June 2026).
Chiyoda street ban: ¥2,000 for now (up to ¥20,000 under the ordinance); heated tobacco fined (liquid e-cigarettes not) (From 1 November 2024).
Shinjuku street ban: Ban includes heated tobacco; no fine for smoking (Ordinance as amended, in force 1 October 2026).
Minato street ban: Ward-wide ban in outdoor public places; no fine (Ward answer updated 28 August 2025).
Kyoto fine zones: ¥1,000 in three zones; heated tobacco not fined (Kyoto City council papers, February 2026).
Shinkansen smoking rooms: All on-board rooms removed (Tōkaidō, San'yō) (16 March 2024).
Tōkaidō Shinkansen station smoking rooms: Inside the gates at every station (JR Central guide, 4 June 2025).
Indoor smoking law: Revised Health Promotion Act (Fully in force 1 April 2020).
Tobacco allowance: 200 cigarettes or 10 packs heated tobacco or 50 cigars or 250 g; none for under-20s.
Nicotine e-liquid, personal import: Up to 120 ml or 60 cartridges (one month's supply) plus one device and one spare.
taspo vending-machine card: Ended 31 March 2026.
Minimum age: 20.
Sources for this section: Osaka City, city-wide street smoking ban · Shibuya City, smoking rules and fines · Chiyoda City, press release on heated tobacco fines (1 October 2024) · Shinjuku City, street smoking ordinance (PDF) · Minato City, answer on fines for street smoking · Kyoto City, street smoking council papers on fine zones, heated tobacco and smoking areas (February 2026, PDF) · JR Central, end of on-board smoking rooms (26 January 2024, PDF) · JR Central, Tōkaidō Shinkansen station smoking rooms (4 June 2025, PDF) · Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare, passive smoking measures · Japan Customs, duty-free allowances for passengers · Kanto-Shinetsu Regional Bureau of Health and Welfare, importing e-cigarette liquid (PDF) · taspo, end of service · e-Gov, Act on the Prohibition of Smoking by Persons under 20
Questions about this guide
Can I smoke while walking if no one else is around?
No. In Tokyo's central wards, Osaka and central Kyoto, the ban applies whether the street is busy or empty. Where there is a fine, patrol officers who see you smoking can issue it on the spot.
Is IQOS or glo allowed where cigarettes aren't?
Not on the street in Shibuya, Chiyoda or Osaka, where heated tobacco is covered by the ban and the fine. Indoors, some restaurants have a heated-tobacco-only room, so you may be able to use it while eating.
Can I smoke in my hotel room?
Only in a designated smoking room; smoking in a non-smoking room can bring a cleaning fee. Our hotel room guide explains "non-smoking" and "deodorised" labels.
How do I pay a street-smoking fine?
The patrol officer issues it on the spot. Shibuya accepts cash, electronic payment (from June 2026) or a payment slip you pay later. Osaka and Chiyoda don't set out payment methods on their pages (not stated officially as of 11 October 2026); the officer will tell you how to pay. Don't argue; it's an administrative penalty, not a criminal fine.
I'm 18. Can I buy cigarettes in Japan?
No. The age limit is 20 for smoking as well as buying, regardless of the age limit in your own country, and shops can refuse a sale without ID.
Official pages for this guide
The rules in this guide come from the official pages below. Japan, Booked. does not book or submit requests on your behalf.
- Osaka City, city-wide street smoking ban
- Osaka City, places where you can smoke (updated 6 October 2026)
- Shibuya City, smoking rules and fines
- Shibuya City, list of public smoking areas
- Chiyoda City, press release on heated tobacco fines (1 October 2024)
- Shinjuku City, street smoking ordinance (PDF)
- Minato City, answer on fines for street smoking
- Kyoto City, street smoking ordinance (PDF)
- Kyoto City, street smoking council papers on fine zones, heated tobacco and smoking areas (February 2026, PDF)
- JR Central, end of on-board smoking rooms (26 January 2024, PDF)
- JR West, end of San'yō Shinkansen smoking rooms (26 January 2024, PDF)
- JR Central, Tōkaidō Shinkansen station smoking rooms (4 June 2025, PDF)
- Haneda Airport, terminal FAQ (smoking)
- Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare, passive smoking measures
- Japan Customs, duty-free allowances for passengers
- Kanto-Shinetsu Regional Bureau of Health and Welfare, importing e-cigarette liquid (PDF)
- Okayama Prefecture, nicotine-containing e-cigarettes
- taspo, end of service
- e-Gov, Act on the Prohibition of Smoking by Persons under 20
- Chiyoda City, street-smoking FAQ
- Shinjuku City, heated tobacco in the street-smoking ban from 1 July 2025
- Kyoto City, smoking areas and fine zones
- Kyoto City, street-smoking ordinance (city-wide request)
- MHLW, passive smoking law in brief
- Tokyo Metropolitan Government, smoking-allowed restaurants (no-employee rule)
- Japan Customs, baggage declaration form (PDF)
- Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism, items you may carry on aircraft (PDF)
- MHLW e-health net, e-cigarettes
- JR West, smoking on trains
Read next
- Check your Japan hotel room’s air conditioning and smoking termsCheck heating/cooling controls, room temperature flexibility, non-smoking policy, and cancellation/change rules before booking your room.
- Bringing medication into Japan: which route your medicine needsUp to a 1-month supply of ordinary, non-controlled prescription medicine needs no paperwork; more needs a Yunyu Kakunin-sho. Codeine and Elvanse need permission; Adderall is banned. CBD and posting rules.
- What you can bring home from Japan: UK and EU customs allowancesUK £390 and EU €430 allowances, whisky and sake limits, the meat and dairy ban, knives, and why Japan's tax-free shopping doesn't change what you owe at home.
Sources and how this guide was checked
Published · Based on official sources · no affiliate links
Official sources
These official sources explain the rules and conditions used in this guide. Live availability and your own booking, admission or service outcome still need to be confirmed for your trip.
- Osaka City, city-wide street smoking ban
What this confirms: Supports the key facts on: Osaka city-wide street ban.
Last checked - Osaka City, places where you can smoke (updated 6 October 2026)
What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.
Last checked - Shibuya City, smoking rules and fines
What this confirms: Supports the key facts on: Shibuya street ban.
Last checked - Shibuya City, list of public smoking areas
What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.
Last checked - Chiyoda City, press release on heated tobacco fines (1 October 2024)
What this confirms: Supports the key facts on: Chiyoda street ban.
Last checked - Shinjuku City, street smoking ordinance (PDF)
What this confirms: Supports the key facts on: Shinjuku street ban.
Last checked - Minato City, answer on fines for street smoking
What this confirms: Supports the key facts on: Minato street ban.
Last checked - Kyoto City, street smoking ordinance (PDF)
What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.
Last checked - Kyoto City, street smoking council papers on fine zones, heated tobacco and smoking areas (February 2026, PDF)
What this confirms: Supports the key facts on: Kyoto fine zones.
Last checked - JR Central, end of on-board smoking rooms (26 January 2024, PDF)
What this confirms: Supports the key facts on: Shinkansen smoking rooms.
Last checked - JR West, end of San'yō Shinkansen smoking rooms (26 January 2024, PDF)
What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.
Last checked - JR Central, Tōkaidō Shinkansen station smoking rooms (4 June 2025, PDF)
What this confirms: Supports the key facts on: Tōkaidō Shinkansen station smoking rooms.
Last checked - Haneda Airport, terminal FAQ (smoking)
What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.
Last checked - Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare, passive smoking measures
What this confirms: Supports the key facts on: Indoor smoking law.
Last checked - Japan Customs, duty-free allowances for passengers
What this confirms: Supports the key facts on: Tobacco allowance.
Last checked - Kanto-Shinetsu Regional Bureau of Health and Welfare, importing e-cigarette liquid (PDF)
What this confirms: Supports the key facts on: Nicotine e-liquid, personal import.
Last checked - Okayama Prefecture, nicotine-containing e-cigarettes
What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.
Last checked - taspo, end of service
What this confirms: Supports the key facts on: taspo vending-machine card.
Last checked - e-Gov, Act on the Prohibition of Smoking by Persons under 20
What this confirms: Supports the key facts on: Minimum age.
Last checked - Chiyoda City, street-smoking FAQ
What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.
Last checked - Shinjuku City, heated tobacco in the street-smoking ban from 1 July 2025
What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.
Last checked - Kyoto City, smoking areas and fine zones
What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.
Last checked - Kyoto City, street-smoking ordinance (city-wide request)
What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.
Last checked - MHLW, passive smoking law in brief
What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.
Last checked - Tokyo Metropolitan Government, smoking-allowed restaurants (no-employee rule)
What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.
Last checked - Japan Customs, baggage declaration form (PDF)
What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.
Last checked - Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism, items you may carry on aircraft (PDF)
What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.
Last checked - MHLW e-health net, e-cigarettes
What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.
Last checked - JR West, smoking on trains
What this confirms: Background source checked for this guide.
Last checked
About this guide
Where you can and can't smoke in Japan: ¥1,000–2,000 street fines in Tokyo, Osaka and Kyoto, smoking areas, restaurants, Shinkansen, vapes and age 20.
Checked against official sources on 11 October 2026. Facts checked against Japan Customs, the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare, Osaka, Kyoto, Chiyoda, Shibuya, Shinjuku and Minato city pages, and JR Central and JR West on 11 October 2026. Japan, Booked. is independent and this page has no affiliate links.
How we checked this
Sources and limits of this guide
These dated notes show what each source supports, and what you still need to check yourself.
If columns are cut off, scroll sideways. Keyboard: focus the table, then use Left/Right Arrow keys.
| Question | What we found | Where it comes from | What this means for your trip |
|---|---|---|---|
| Osaka city-wide street ban | ¥1,000 fine; heated tobacco included | Osaka City, city-wide street smoking ban | Checked 11 October 2026; From 27 January 2025. Recheck before you rely on it. |
| Shibuya street ban | ¥2,000 on the spot; whole ward; heated tobacco included | Shibuya City, smoking rules and fines | Checked 11 October 2026; Fines from July 2019; e-payment from June 2026. Recheck before you rely on it. |
| Chiyoda street ban | ¥2,000 for now (up to ¥20,000 under the ordinance); heated tobacco fined (liquid e-cigarettes not) | Chiyoda City, press release on heated tobacco fines (1 October 2024) | Checked 11 October 2026; From 1 November 2024. Recheck before you rely on it. |
| Shinjuku street ban | Ban includes heated tobacco; no fine for smoking | Shinjuku City, street smoking ordinance (PDF) | Checked 11 October 2026; Ordinance as amended, in force 1 October 2026. Recheck before you rely on it. |
| Minato street ban | Ward-wide ban in outdoor public places; no fine | Minato City, answer on fines for street smoking | Checked 11 October 2026; Ward answer updated 28 August 2025. Recheck before you rely on it. |
| Kyoto fine zones | ¥1,000 in three zones; heated tobacco not fined | Kyoto City, street smoking council papers on fine zones, heated tobacco and smoking areas (February 2026, PDF) | Checked 11 October 2026; Kyoto City council papers, February 2026. Recheck before you rely on it. |
Based on official sources, linked below.
Guide updates Reviewed
When this guide was checked and what changed
- First published
- Last checked
- Check again by
- What we checked
- Osaka City, Shibuya City, Chiyoda City, Shinjuku City, Minato City, Kyoto City, JR Central, JR West, Haneda Airport, Ministry of Health, Japan Customs, Kanto-Shinetsu Regional Bureau of Health and Welfare, Okayama Prefecture, taspo, e-Gov, MHLW, Tokyo Metropolitan Government, Ministry of Land and MHLW e-health net, checked 11 October 2026.
- Latest update
- : First published: street smoking bans and fines in Tokyo, Osaka and Kyoto, designated smoking areas, indoor rules, trains, heated tobacco and what you can bring in, checked against official pages on 11 October 2026.
The date above reflects when these checks were last run. If an individual source was rechecked later, you’ll see that date next to it below. Other copy edits are listed in the update history.
Who edits this guide
One editor looks after this guide
Japan, Booked. is run and edited from Japan. The same editor checks the Japanese and English sources, writes the traveller-facing guidance and keeps the correction history up to date.
What changed
Update history
- First published
First published: street smoking bans and fines in Tokyo, Osaka and Kyoto, designated smoking areas, indoor rules, trains, heated tobacco and what you can bring in, checked against official pages on 11 October 2026.
If an operator, organiser or product changes in a way that affects the guide, we check it again sooner. Reader reports help us spot what to investigate, and we verify them against current official information before publishing. Read our update and corrections policy. See every guide's review schedule. Suggest an improvement to this guide.
