Winter illuminations and festivals in Japan, November 2026 to February 2027: dates, hours and fees
Checked against 13 official sources. 12 minute read.
What to know first
Osaka, Kobe, Sapporo, Yomiuriland, Roppongi Hills and Marunouchi have announced their 2026–27 dates. Osaka's Festival of the Lights (大阪・光の饗宴) runs from 3 November 2026 to 31 January 2027, with the Midosuji Illumination lit from about 17:00 to 25:00 (1 a.m.) until 31 December. The 32nd Kobe Luminarie runs from Friday 29 January to Sunday 7 February 2027; most of it is free, but one area of Meriken Park needs a ticket (¥500–¥1,500). The Sapporo Snow Festival runs from Thursday 4 to Thursday 11 February 2027, with lights at the Odori site until 22:00. In Tokyo, Roppongi Hills Keyakizaka runs from 5 November to 25 December 2026, 17:00–22:00 (first day may differ), free to view. Marunouchi Illumination 2026 runs from 12 November 2026 to 14 February 2027 along Marunouchi Naka-dori; its daily hours had not been announced as of 19 October 2026. Last season, viewing was free. Go on a weekday at lighting-up time. Going after 21:00 works only for street events that are still lit that evening; check the event and date. For paid parks, check daily closing and last-admission times before setting out.
If your trip includes a Saturday or Sunday at Kobe Luminarie, plan to buy the advance ticket for Meriken Park's paid area when sales open; on weekends it's ¥750 in advance against ¥1,500 on the day.
On this page
Sources checked on 12 October 2026; Roppongi, GO TOKYO, Kobe ticket-sale status and Sapporo year boundaries were rechecked on 16 October 2026, and Marunouchi and Yomiuriland on 19 October 2026. Marunouchi's 2026–27 hours, 2027 Susukino lighting hours and Tsudome shuttle details remain unverified here.
The calendar at a glance
If columns are cut off, scroll sideways. Keyboard: focus the table, then use Left/Right Arrow keys.
| Event | 2026–27 dates | Hours | Cost | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yomiuriland Jewellumination (Tokyo, Inagi) | 29 October 2026–4 April 2027 (closed some days) | 16:00–20:30; varies by date | Park admission: entry ticket ¥1,800 for adults (¥1,600 online); After Pass from 15:00 with rides ¥3,100 (¥2,800 online) | Announced |
| Osaka Festival of the Lights | 3 November 2026–31 January 2027 | Varies by programme | Street events free to walk | Announced |
| Midosuji Illumination (Osaka) | 3 November–31 December 2026 | About 17:00–25:00 | Free (public street) | Announced |
| OSAKA Hikari-Renaissance core venues | 11–25 December 2026 | Projection mapping 17:30–21:30 | Not stated in the release | Announced |
| Roppongi Hills Keyakizaka (Tokyo) | 5 November–25 December 2026 | 17:00–22:00 (first day may differ) | Free to view | Announced |
| Marunouchi Illumination (Tokyo) | 12 November 2026–14 February 2027 | Not yet announced; last season 16:00–23:00 (December to 24:00) | Last season free | Dates announced; hours due late October |
| Kobe Luminarie (32nd) | 29 January–7 February 2027 | Not announced | Free except Meriken Park paid area | Announced |
| Sapporo Snow Festival (77th) | 4–11 February 2027 | Odori site lit until 22:00 | 2027 admission charges not verified in this guide | Announced |
Which event fits your trip?
If columns are cut off, scroll sideways. Keyboard: focus the table, then use Left/Right Arrow keys.
| Your situation | What to do |
|---|---|
| You're in Tokyo in November or December | Roppongi Keyakizaka is announced for 5 November–25 December 2026, 17:00–22:00 (first day may differ), free to view. Add Marunouchi (from Tokyo Station), lit from 12 November 2026 to 14 February 2027; it was free last season |
| You're in Osaka between 3 November and 31 December | Walk the Midosuji Illumination from Umeda south towards Namba; it's lit from about 17:00 |
| You're in Osaka between 11 and 25 December | Add Nakanoshima for the Osaka Central Public Hall projection mapping (17:30–21:30, about every 12 minutes) |
| Your Japan dates are late January to early February | Kobe Luminarie (29 January–7 February 2027) is an easy evening trip from Osaka by train; go on a weekday |
| You're going to Hokkaido in February | Plan Sapporo for 4–11 February 2027 and book the hotel now; late January to early February is Sapporo's coldest time of year, according to the festival |
| You have children and want somewhere off the street | Yomiuriland's Jewellumination, inside an amusement park, starts its season on 29 October 2026 |
| You only have a weekend | Go at lighting-up time. For street illuminations still operating after 21:00, a later visit can be quieter (our judgement); check the event and date. For paid parks, check daily hours and last admission before setting out |
Worked example: Kobe Luminarie on a weekday or a weekend
You're staying in Osaka and want to see Kobe Luminarie with two adults.
- Weekday, ticket bought in advance: Meriken Park paid area ¥500 × 2 = ¥1,000.
- Saturday, ticket bought in advance: ¥750 × 2 = ¥1,500.
- Saturday, ticket bought on the day: ¥1,500 × 2 = ¥3,000.
The rest of the event, at Higashi Yuenchi and in the former Foreign Settlement (旧居留地), needs no ticket. So the cheapest way to see it all is a weekday with advance tickets for Meriken Park; the most expensive is turning up on a weekend and buying on the spot. As of 19 October 2026, the organiser said paid-area ticket details would be announced in the autumn; it had chosen a ticket seller (announced on 7 October 2026) but had not yet published a sale date or sales outlets, and the 2027 lighting hours had not been stated officially.
Timing. The festival runs for ten days, from Friday 29 January to Sunday 7 February 2027, so it includes two weekends. The weekday evenings, Monday 1 to Thursday 4 February, are the ones to aim for (our judgement).
Tokyo
Marunouchi Illumination. Last season (2025–26) the Marunouchi street trees were lit from 13 November 2025 to 15 February 2026, 16:00–23:00, and to midnight in December, according to GO TOKYO. Viewing was free. The 25th Marunouchi Illumination runs from 12 November 2026 to 14 February 2027, with champagne-gold lights on the street trees along about 1.2 km of Marunouchi Naka-dori, according to the organisers' release of 17 September 2026. Daily hours and whether viewing stays free had not been announced as of 19 October 2026; the organisers said more details would follow in late October. It's a short walk from Tokyo Station's Marunouchi side, so it fits after a day trip back into Tokyo Station.
Roppongi Hills Keyakizaka. Roppongi Hills Keyakizaka (Tokyo) 5 November–25 December 2026, 17:00–22:00 (first day may differ), free to view.
Yomiuriland Jewellumination (Inagi, western Tokyo). The 2026–27 season runs from 29 October 2026 to 4 April 2027, 16:00–20:30, with hours varying by date, according to Yomiuriland. There are closure days, and on weekdays from 1 to 12 March 2027 the park opens in the daytime only, so there is no evening illumination on those days. It's inside the amusement park, so you pay park admission: an entry-only ticket is ¥1,800 for adults and ¥1,000 for primary-school children (¥1,600 and ¥800 online), and the After Pass, valid from 15:00 on Jewellumination days with unlimited rides except the Ferris wheel and a few other attractions, is ¥3,100 for adults (¥2,800 online). The park says closure days, hours and prices may change, so check its daily calendar before you go.
A note on the street illuminations. Because these are in public streets and shopping districts, there's no ticket, queue system or capacity limit, and crowds are heaviest on weekends in December and on 24–25 December (our judgement). Stay to one side of the pavement when stopping for photos.
Sources for this section: Mitsubishi Estate and partners: Marunouchi Illumination 2026 (17 September 2026, Japanese PDF) · Yomiuriland: Jewellumination 2026 Growing Light (25 August 2026, Japanese PDF) · Yomiuriland: prices and tickets (Japanese)
Osaka
Osaka Festival of the Lights 2026. The Osaka Prefectural Government announced the 2026 programme on 24 September 2026. The festival runs from 3 November 2026 to 31 January 2027 across the city, with two core programmes:
- Midosuji Illumination 2026: 3 November–31 December 2026 (59 days), about 17:00–25:00, along Midosuji between the Hanshin-mae and Namba-nishiguchi crossings. The lighting ceremony is on 23 November 2026, 17:00–19:00, when part of Midosuji (Yodoyabashi to Senba Chuo 3-chome) is closed to traffic and opened to pedestrians.
- OSAKA Hikari-Renaissance 2026: core venues 11–25 December 2026 (15 days) around Nakanoshima. The Osaka Central Public Hall projection mapping runs 17:30–21:30, with a show roughly every 12 minutes and the last show from 21:20; the prefecture's release gives the length of each show as about 7 to 10 minutes. The Osaka City Hall façade illumination and the Nakanoshima Illumination Street (about 150 m of zelkova trees) run 3 November–31 December, 17:00–25:00.
The prefecture's release doesn't mention admission charges; the illuminations are on public streets and in public spaces. For crowd-free photos of Midosuji, the late evening, after 22:00, is the time to go (our judgement).
Kobe Luminarie (32nd)
The 32nd edition runs from Friday 29 January to Sunday 7 February 2027 across three areas: Higashi Yuenchi, the former Foreign Settlement and Meriken Park.
Paid area tickets (Meriken Park only):
If columns are cut off, scroll sideways. Keyboard: focus the table, then use Left/Right Arrow keys.
| Ticket | Weekday | Saturday, Sunday |
|---|---|---|
| Advance | ¥500 | ¥750 |
| On the day | ¥1,000 | ¥1,500 |
| Group | ¥400 | ¥600 |
The artwork details were due to be announced around October 2026, according to Kobe City's release of 29 May 2026. Lighting hours for 2027 were not stated officially as of 19 October 2026.
Sapporo Snow Festival (77th)
The 2027 Sapporo Snow Festival runs from Thursday 4 to Thursday 11 February 2027 (11 February is a public holiday) at all three sites:
- Odori site (Odori Park): large snow sculptures across the city centre; lit until 22:00.
- Susukino site: ice sculptures in the entertainment district. The detailed 23:00 lighting time (22:00 on the last day) appears in earlier 2026 material; this guide has not verified the 2027 Susukino lighting hours.
- Tsudome site: snow slides and family activities, in north-east Sapporo. The 2027 venue period block lists 10:00–16:00; attraction entry may close earlier when busy. Sakaemachi is on the Toho subway line; earlier access guidance describes a shuttle or about a 15-minute walk, but this guide has not verified the 2027 shuttle timetable or fares.
The official FAQ says the average February temperature in Sapporo is −2.3°C and recommends anti-slip grips for your shoes: about ¥1,000 at the official shop on the Odori site, at nearby convenience stores and at JR and subway station kiosks. For the 2026 festival, a luggage storage point opened inside Odori subway station (¥1,000 per item, same-day collection only); the 2027 arrangements had not been announced as of 19 October 2026.
Hotels in Sapporo fill up early for festival week. If you can't find a room, stay in Otaru or near New Chitose Airport and travel in by JR (our judgement).
FAQ
Are Japan's winter illuminations free? Most street illuminations are. Marunouchi was free to view last season, and Midosuji and Nakanoshima are on public streets. Kobe Luminarie charges only for the Meriken Park paid area (¥500–¥1,500). Illuminations inside theme parks, such as Yomiuriland's, need park admission.
When are the Tokyo illuminations announced? Usually in the autumn. Roppongi Hills Keyakizaka (Tokyo) runs 5 November–25 December 2026, 17:00–22:00 (first day may differ), free to view. Marunouchi Illumination 2026 runs from 12 November 2026 to 14 February 2027; its daily hours were due to be announced in late October.
Is Kobe Luminarie in December? Not this season. The 32nd edition runs from 29 January to 7 February 2027, so plan a late-January or early-February trip if you want to see it.
How cold is it at the Sapporo Snow Festival? The festival's FAQ gives the average February temperature as −2.3°C. Wear warm layers, gloves, a hat and boots with grip, and add anti-slip grips if your shoes don't have them.
What's the least crowded time to see illuminations? Weekday evenings at lighting-up time are our general suggestion. After 21:00 is an option only for street illuminations still operating that evening (our judgement), not for every venue. Check paid parks' daily closing and last-admission times; this guide has not verified a single last-admission time for Yomiuriland. Avoid Saturday evenings and 24–25 December in Tokyo. For general crowd timing, see avoiding crowds in Japan and the 2027 crowd calendar.
Your next step
Match your dates to the calendar table above. If you overlap with Kobe Luminarie, buy Meriken Park tickets in advance for a weekday; if you overlap with the Sapporo Snow Festival, book your Sapporo hotel this month. For Tokyo, use the announced Roppongi (5 November–25 December) and Marunouchi (12 November–14 February) dates above; Marunouchi's daily hours were due in late October.
Key facts (as of 19 October 2026)
If columns are cut off, scroll sideways. Keyboard: focus the table, then use Left/Right Arrow keys.
| Fact | Value | As of | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Osaka Festival of the Lights 2026 | 3 November 2026–31 January 2027 | 12 October 2026 (release of 24 September 2026) | https://www.pref.osaka.lg.jp/hodo/fumin/o070080/prs_51250.html |
| Midosuji Illumination 2026 | 3 November–31 December 2026, about 17:00–25:00; lighting ceremony 23 November 17:00–19:00 | 12 October 2026 | https://www.pref.osaka.lg.jp/hodo/fumin/o070080/prs_51250.html |
| OSAKA Hikari-Renaissance 2026 | Core venues 11–25 December 2026; Central Public Hall mapping 17:30–21:30; City Hall façade and Nakanoshima street 3 November–31 December, 17:00–25:00 | 12 October 2026 | https://www.pref.osaka.lg.jp/hodo/fumin/o070080/prs_51250.html |
| Kobe Luminarie (32nd) | 29 January–7 February 2027; Meriken Park paid area ¥500/¥750 advance, ¥1,000/¥1,500 on the day (weekday/weekend); hours not announced | 12 October 2026 (Kobe City release of 29 May 2026) | https://www.city.kobe.lg.jp/a64051/284690987078.html and https://kobe-luminarie.jp/ |
| Sapporo Snow Festival (77th) | 4–11 February 2027 at Odori, Susukino and Tsudome; Odori lit until 22:00 | 12 October 2026 | https://www.snowfes.com/sites/odori/ |
| Sapporo February average temperature | −2.3°C; anti-slip grips about ¥1,000 | 12 October 2026 | https://www.snowfes.com/faq/ |
| Marunouchi Illumination 2026 | 12 November 2026–14 February 2027, Marunouchi Naka-dori; hours not yet announced. Last season: 13 November 2025–15 February 2026, 16:00–23:00 (December to 24:00), free | 19 October 2026 (organisers' release of 17 September 2026) | https://www.mec.co.jp/event_campaign/mjpm260917_marunouchi_bright_holiday/e6b1aefc7c960ff2bddef2f666b64b49.pdf and https://www.gotokyo.org/jp/spot/ev002/index.html |
| Roppongi Hills Keyakizaka (Tokyo) | 5 November–25 December 2026, 17:00–22:00 (first day may differ), free to view | 16 October 2026 (Mori Building release of 30 September 2026) | https://san-tatsu.jp/pressrelease/558251/ |
| Yomiuriland Jewellumination | 29 October 2026–4 April 2027, 16:00–20:30 (varies by date; closure days; weekdays 1–12 March 2027 daytime only); adult entry ¥1,800 (¥1,600 online), After Pass from 15:00 ¥3,100 (¥2,800 online) | 19 October 2026 (Yomiuriland release of 25 August 2026 and price page) | https://yomiuriland.co.jp/news/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/20260825_release.pdf and https://www.yomiuriland.com/charge/ |
Sources
Sources checked on 12 October 2026; Roppongi, GO TOKYO, Kobe ticket-sale status and Sapporo year boundaries were rechecked on 16 October 2026, and Marunouchi and Yomiuriland on 19 October 2026. Marunouchi's 2026–27 hours, 2027 Susukino lighting hours and Tsudome shuttle details remain unverified here.
- Osaka Prefectural Government, Osaka Festival of the Lights 2026 programme (release of 24 September 2026, Japanese): https://www.pref.osaka.lg.jp/hodo/fumin/o070080/prs_51250.html
- Kobe City, 32nd Kobe Luminarie dates and paid area (release of 29 May 2026, Japanese): https://www.city.kobe.lg.jp/a64051/284690987078.html
- Kobe Luminarie official site (Japanese): https://kobe-luminarie.jp/
- Sapporo Snow Festival, Odori site and 2027 dates (Japanese): https://www.snowfes.com/sites/odori/ and https://www.snowfes.com/
- Sapporo Snow Festival, FAQ (Japanese): https://www.snowfes.com/faq/
- Sapporo City, request to the Ground Self-Defense Force for the 77th festival (25 August 2026, Japanese): https://www.city.sapporo.jp/city/mayor/motion/2026/0825.html
- GO TOKYO (Tokyo Convention & Visitors Bureau), Marunouchi Illumination 2025 (Japanese): https://www.gotokyo.org/jp/spot/ev002/index.html
- Mori Building, Roppongi Hills Christmas 2025 release, as republished: https://san-tatsu.jp/pressrelease/462615/
- Mori Building, Roppongi Hills Christmas 2026 release of 30 September 2026, as republished: https://san-tatsu.jp/pressrelease/558251/
- Yomiuriland, Jewellumination (Japanese): https://www.yomiuriland.com/jewellumination/
- GO TOKYO, Yomiuriland Jewellumination 2026 listing (Japanese; dates and hours only, not a park-direct price check): https://www.gotokyo.org/jp/spot/ev136/index.html
- Mitsubishi Estate and partners: Marunouchi Illumination 2026 (17 September 2026, Japanese PDF): https://www.mec.co.jp/event_campaign/mjpm260917_marunouchi_bright_holiday/e6b1aefc7c960ff2bddef2f666b64b49.pdf
- Yomiuriland: Jewellumination 2026 Growing Light (25 August 2026, Japanese PDF): https://yomiuriland.co.jp/news/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/20260825_release.pdf
- Yomiuriland: prices and tickets (Japanese): https://www.yomiuriland.com/charge/
Official pages for this guide
The rules in this guide come from the official pages below. Japan, Booked. does not book or submit requests on your behalf.
- Osaka Prefectural Government, Osaka Festival of the Lights 2026 programme (release of 24 September 2026, Japanese)
- Kobe City, 32nd Kobe Luminarie dates and paid area (release of 29 May 2026, Japanese)
- Kobe Luminarie official site (Japanese)
- Sapporo Snow Festival, Odori site and 2027 dates (Japanese)
- Sapporo Snow Festival, FAQ (Japanese)
- Sapporo City, request to the Ground Self-Defense Force for the 77th festival (25 August 2026, Japanese)
- GO TOKYO (Tokyo Convention & Visitors Bureau), Marunouchi Illumination 2025 (Japanese)
- Mori Building, Roppongi Hills Christmas 2026 release of 30 September 2026, as republished
- Yomiuriland, Jewellumination (Japanese)
- GO TOKYO, Yomiuriland Jewellumination 2026 listing (Japanese)
- Mitsubishi Estate and partners: Marunouchi Illumination 2026 (17 September 2026, Japanese PDF)
- Yomiuriland: Jewellumination 2026 Growing Light (25 August 2026, Japanese PDF)
- Yomiuriland: prices and tickets (Japanese)
Read next
- Enjoy Japan with fewer crowdsFind a better time to visit, group nearby sights and build a flexible day, with Kyoto as a practical example.
- Japan crowd calendar 2027: dates to avoid and the quietest hours for big sightsGolden Week, Obon and other 2027 dates to avoid, the quietest hours at Sensō-ji, Shibuya Sky, Skytree, Fushimi Inari and Osaka Castle, and a worked plan.
- New Year in Japan 2026–27: what closes, what stays open and how to get around
Sources and how this guide was checked
Published · Based on official sources · no affiliate links
Official sources
These official sources explain the rules and conditions used in this guide. Live availability and your own booking, admission or service outcome still need to be confirmed for your trip.
- Osaka Prefectural Government, Osaka Festival of the Lights 2026 programme (release of 24 September 2026, Japanese)
What this confirms: Winter illuminations and festivals in Japan, November 2026 to February 2027: dates, hours and fees
Last checked - Kobe City, 32nd Kobe Luminarie dates and paid area (release of 29 May 2026, Japanese)
What this confirms: Winter illuminations and festivals in Japan, November 2026 to February 2027: dates, hours and fees
Last checked - Kobe Luminarie official site (Japanese)
What this confirms: Winter illuminations and festivals in Japan, November 2026 to February 2027: dates, hours and fees
Last checked - Sapporo Snow Festival, Odori site and 2027 dates (Japanese)
What this confirms: Winter illuminations and festivals in Japan, November 2026 to February 2027: dates, hours and fees
Last checked - Sapporo Snow Festival, FAQ (Japanese)
What this confirms: Mixed-year FAQ. The presence of 2027 festival dates does not date every answer; generic free-entry and detailed Susukino/shuttle answers are not certified 2027 operating conditions.
Last checked - Sapporo City, request to the Ground Self-Defense Force for the 77th festival (25 August 2026, Japanese)
What this confirms: Winter illuminations and festivals in Japan, November 2026 to February 2027: dates, hours and fees
Last checked - GO TOKYO (Tokyo Convention & Visitors Bureau), Marunouchi Illumination 2025 (Japanese)
What this confirms: Last season's Marunouchi dates, hours and free viewing (13 November 2025–15 February 2026, 16:00–23:00, December to 24:00). On 16 October 2026 this listing still described the 2025–26 event; the 2026–27 dates come from the organisers' release listed separately.
Last checked - Mori Building, Roppongi Hills Christmas 2026 release of 30 September 2026, as republished
What this confirms: Winter illuminations and festivals in Japan, November 2026 to February 2027: dates, hours and fees
Last checked - Yomiuriland, Jewellumination (Japanese)
What this confirms: Winter illuminations and festivals in Japan, November 2026 to February 2027: dates, hours and fees
Last checked - GO TOKYO, Yomiuriland Jewellumination 2026 listing (Japanese)
What this confirms: Season dates 29 October 2026–4 April 2027, lights from 16:00 with closing around 20:30 depending on the date, and irregular closure days. Prices and the After Pass come from Yomiuriland's own release and price page, listed separately.
Last checked - Mitsubishi Estate and partners: Marunouchi Illumination 2026 (17 September 2026, Japanese PDF)
What this confirms: 2026–27 dates, 12 November 2026–14 February 2027, on Marunouchi Naka-dori; hours and cost are not yet stated and details follow in late October.
Last checked - Yomiuriland: Jewellumination 2026 Growing Light (25 August 2026, Japanese PDF)
What this confirms: Season dates and varying 16:00–20:30 hours; daytime-only opening on weekdays from 1 to 12 March 2027; standard adult and child admission and adult After Pass prices.
Last checked - Yomiuriland: prices and tickets (Japanese)
What this confirms: Standard and online adult and child admission prices, the adult After Pass from 15:00 on Jewellumination days, and its exclusions including the Ferris wheel and some other attractions.
Last checked
About this guide
If your trip includes a Saturday or Sunday at Kobe Luminarie, plan to buy the advance ticket for Meriken Park's paid area when sales open; on weekends it's ¥750 in advance against ¥1,500 on the day.
Sources checked on 12 October 2026; Roppongi, GO TOKYO, Kobe ticket-sale status and Sapporo year boundaries were rechecked on 16 October 2026, and Marunouchi and Yomiuriland on 19 October 2026. Marunouchi's 2026–27 hours, 2027 Susukino lighting hours and Tsudome shuttle details remain unverified here.
How we checked this
Where this information comes from
Winter illuminations and festivals in Japan, November 2026 to February 2027: dates, hours and fees
If columns are cut off, scroll sideways. Keyboard: focus the table, then use Left/Right Arrow keys.
| Question | What we found | Where it comes from | What this means for your trip |
|---|---|---|---|
| You're in Tokyo in November or December | Roppongi Keyakizaka is announced for 5 November–25 December 2026, 17:00–22:00 (first day may differ), free to view. Add Marunouchi (from Tokyo Station), lit from 12 November 2026 to 14 February 2027; it was free last season | Mitsubishi Estate release of 17 September 2026; Mori Building release of 30 September 2026; GO TOKYO Marunouchi 2025 listing | Roppongi is free to view; Marunouchi was free last season and this season's cost is not yet announced. Roppongi ends on 25 December and Marunouchi runs to 14 February. |
| You're in Osaka between 3 November and 31 December | Walk the Midosuji Illumination from Umeda south towards Namba; it's lit from about 17:00 | Osaka Prefectural Government release of 24 September 2026 | Midosuji is a public street with no ticket; it is lit until about 25:00. |
| You're in Osaka between 11 and 25 December | Add Nakanoshima for the Osaka Central Public Hall projection mapping (17:30–21:30, about every 12 minutes) | Osaka Prefectural Government release of 24 September 2026 | Shows run about every 12 minutes from 17:30, last show 21:20; no ticket. |
| Your Japan dates are late January to early February | Kobe Luminarie (29 January–7 February 2027) is an easy evening trip from Osaka by train; go on a weekday | Kobe City release of 29 May 2026; Kobe Luminarie official site | Only the Meriken Park area needs a ticket (¥500–¥1,500); buy in advance for a weekday. |
| You're going to Hokkaido in February | Plan Sapporo for 4–11 February 2027 and book the hotel now; late January to early February is Sapporo's coldest time of year, according to the festival | Sapporo Snow Festival site pages and FAQ; Sapporo City notice of 25 August 2026 | Book the hotel now; Odori is lit until 22:00 and the average February temperature is −2.3°C. |
| You have children and want somewhere off the street | Yomiuriland's Jewellumination, inside an amusement park, starts its season on 29 October 2026 | Yomiuriland release of 25 August 2026 and price page | Park admission applies: ¥1,800 adult entry (¥1,600 online) or After Pass from 15:00 ¥3,100 (¥2,800 online). |
| You only have a weekend | Go at lighting-up time. For street illuminations still operating after 21:00, a later visit can be quieter (our judgement); check the event and date. For paid parks, check daily hours and last admission before setting out | Our judgement, based on the organiser pages above | Weekday lighting-up time is quietest; check paid parks' closing and last-admission times. |
Based on official sources, linked below.
Guide updates Reviewed
When this guide was checked and what changed
- First published
- Last checked
- Check again by
- What we checked
- Sources checked on 12 October 2026; Roppongi, GO TOKYO, Kobe ticket-sale status and Sapporo year boundaries were rechecked on 16 October 2026, and Marunouchi and Yomiuriland on 19 October 2026. Marunouchi's 2026–27 hours, 2027 Susukino lighting hours and Tsudome shuttle details remain unverified here.
- Latest update
- : Added Marunouchi’s announced 2026–27 dates, Yomiuriland’s hours and prices with ride and March weekday limits, refreshed Kobe ticket-sale status and clarified Osaka show length. Removed internal source notes and gave each checked-table row its own source and advice.
The date above reflects when these checks were last run. If an individual source was rechecked later, you’ll see that date next to it below. Other copy edits are listed in the update history.
Who edits this guide
One editor looks after this guide
Japan, Booked. is run and edited from Japan. The same editor checks the Japanese and English sources, writes the traveller-facing guidance and keeps the correction history up to date.
What changed
Update history
- Source update and reader-facing corrections
Added Marunouchi’s announced 2026–27 dates, Yomiuriland’s hours and prices with ride and March weekday limits, refreshed Kobe ticket-sale status and clarified Osaka show length. Removed internal source notes and gave each checked-table row its own source and advice.
- First published
Winter illuminations and festivals in Japan, November 2026 to February 2027: dates, hours and fees
If an operator, organiser or product changes in a way that affects the guide, we check it again sooner. Reader reports help us spot what to investigate, and we verify them against current official information before publishing. Read our update and corrections policy. See every guide's review schedule. Suggest an improvement to this guide.